Checked 27 September 2026
Thirteen 2D and 3D animation apps, weighed on what a listing and a developer's own pages prove before you install: whether the free export comes without a watermark, which formats it allows, the caps printed, the Contains ads label, the price, and where the developer documents tablet or offline use.
FlipaClip is the pick, Pixel Studio the free-to-install pixel art one, with ads, whose developer says the export carries no watermark, Stop Motion Studio the one for children, RoughAnimator the one you pay for once. Apart from Pixel Studio, which is built for pixel art, no free app here for drawing frame by frame has a developer page promising an unmarked export that nothing contradicts. Our answer, the free pick and the table ↓
FlipaClip is our best overall pick because its help centre, read 27 September 2026, documents free MP4 and GIF export, offline animating and phone, tablet and Chromebook support, although every free movie carries its logo until you pay for FlipaClip Plus and its listing on the same date carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $2.99 to $39.99 per item.
Pixel Studio is our pick for pixel art without a watermark because its developer's GitHub wiki Shop page, edited 4 October 2023 and read 27 September 2026, says free work carries no watermarks and no other source contradicts it, although its listing on the same date carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $2.99 to $17.99 per item.
Stop Motion Studio is our pick for children because its listing, read 27 September 2026, is rated Everyone (Digital Purchases) with a Teacher Approved badge for ages 9+, carries no ads label, declares no data collected and sells a single $5.99 upgrade, though it was last updated on 30 December 2025 and the developer does not say whether the free Android export is watermarked.
RoughAnimator is our pay once pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, charges $7.99 with no in-app purchases and no ads label, so there is no free tier to stamp, and its Android user guide, read the same day, lists MP4, GIF and a PNG sequence with a transparent background.
Data checked: 27 September 2026.
Every app here is checked against its own Google Play listing on the United States English storefront (gl=US, hl=en): rating and review count, the install band, the price or the in-app purchase range, the Contains ads label, the content rating and the Data Safety summary, all read on 27 September 2026. The watermark cell takes one of seven values, with a short qualifier where the source limits it. Yes (developer) means the developer's own help page, guide or terms says the free export is marked; yes (listing) means only the Play description says so; yes (inferred from the paid tier's feature list) means a paid tier or paid twin sells watermark removal and nothing says the free export is clean; no (developer) means the developer says in writing that it is unmarked; conflict means the listing and the developer's own pages disagree, and both are printed; not documented means no page this site could open says either way; paid app, no free tier means there is nothing free to mark. Formats and caps come from the same sources, and where a listing line lists everything an app can do without saying which parts are free, it is not treated as a free tier claim. Developer pages were opened on 27 September 2026 with a full desktop browser User-Agent; sticknodes.com, support.alightmotion.com and helpx.adobe.com returned HTTP 403 and adobe.com could not be read from this site that day, so nothing on this page rests on them. Data Safety lines are the developer's own declarations, not an audit. Play weights the star rating by country while the review count is global, so a rating read on another storefront is a different number. Prices are United States dollars exactly as the listing prints them. Nothing here rests on our own use of the apps.
Best overall for drawing frame by frame
Rating 4.3 from 796,467 reviews · Installs 50,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $2.99 to $39.99 per item · Developer Visual Blasters LLC · Listing updated 25 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.3 (796,467) · read 27 September 2026
FlipaClip is the best overall pick for drawing frame by frame because its help centre, read 27 September 2026, documents free MP4 and GIF export, three free layers and offline animating, on an app whose listing carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $2.99 to $39.99 per item. The blunt part: every free movie carries the FlipaClip logo by default, and removing it needs FlipaClip Plus, a subscription, or the legacy premium purchase, per its watermark article, read the same day; the developer publishes the Plus price nowhere outside the app.
The developer puts the watermark rule in its own words on its Make Movie help article, read 27 September 2026: By default, FlipaClip movies will have a watermarked logo. Please note that removing it is a premium feature.
The same article describes PNG Sequence as a premium feature that allows you to save the movie with a transparent background into a sequence of images
, and warns that a GIF will not include any sound files you've added to your project
. The listing line Export your animation video as MP4, GIF, or PNG with transparency
does not say which of those are free, so read it as a list of what a subscriber gets rather than a free tier promise. Its layers article, read the same day, says You can add up to 3 layers for free and can add up to 10 by watching an ad to unlock each additional one.
On price, its cost article prints no figure and says you will find the cost of the subscription
behind the diamond icon at the top right of the main screen, so the price of Plus is the one shown in the app; the Play range of $2.99 to $39.99 per item cannot be matched to a plan. The Plus page lists watermark removal, image sequence export, custom canvas sizes up to 1920 by 1920, up to 10 layers and ad removal, and the trial page says the 7-day free trial is available once per Apple ID or Google account
, both read 27 September 2026. Offline, the developer says Animating with FlipaClip can be done offline with no problems
, with cloud imports and social uploads excepted (FlipaClip help centre, read 27 September 2026), and its account article, read the same day, says an account is not a requirement
. The listing is rated Everyone (In-App Purchases) on the 27 September 2026 read, and its availability article, read the same day, lists phones, tablets and Chromebooks.
Skip this if. Skip it if a logo on the finished video is not acceptable and you will not subscribe: Pixel Studio's developer says its free exports carry no watermark, and RoughAnimator and Callipeg are paid once with no free tier to stamp.
Choosing between them. Choose FlipaClip over Pixel Studio for freehand drawing with offline use documented, and Pixel Studio over FlipaClip if an unmarked free GIF of pixel art is the whole job.
Pixel art and sprites, unmarked free export
Rating 4.6 from 92,526 reviews · Installs 5,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $2.99 to $17.99 per item · Developer Hippo Games AM · Listing updated 8 July 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.6 (92,526) · read 27 September 2026
Pixel Studio is the pick for pixel art without a watermark because its developer's GitHub wiki Shop page, last edited 4 October 2023 and read 27 September 2026, says free work carries no watermarks and no other source contradicts it, on an app whose listing carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $2.99 to $17.99 per item. The blunt part: that statement is nearly three years old, and the listing reserves Unlimited export to MP4
for PRO without saying how many free MP4 exports you get.
The developer's words, on the Shop page of its GitHub wiki, edited 4 October 2023 and read 27 September 2026: You can use Pixel Studio FREE for commercial purposes. All your arts belong to you. No watermarks.
That wiki is the one the developer's own policy page links to, and the policy page adds that The app provides in-app purchases, subscriptions and contains ads.
The listing itself, read 27 September 2026, sells the in-app upgrade with the line You can support us by purchasing PRO (one-time purchase)
, and its PRO list names Extended max project size
beside Unlimited export to MP4
, while the free feature list on the same page says Unlimited canvas size
; neither states a free limit. The listing's free feature list, on the same page as its Contains ads label, includes Save animations to GIF or sprite sheets
and Extend animations with music and export videos to MP4
, and the wiki's image formats page, edited 21 January 2023, says Pixel Studio uses H.264 encoding
for MP4 and does not mark PNG as an animation format, so no PNG sequence is documented. The listing sets a minimum of 4 GB of RAM
, says to use portrait mode on a phone and landscape on a tablet, and still promotes NFTs. The Play Data Safety panel declares that it may share location and personal info with third parties; offline use is not documented, and no page read says an account is needed to draw or export.
Paid twin. Pixel Studio PRO: Rating 4.7 from 2,145 reviews · Installs 10,000+ · Paid $5.99 to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $17.99 per item · Listing updated 8 July 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026 · its Google Play listing. It still sells in-app purchases on top of its install price.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want hand-drawn or vector animation rather than pixel art: the canvas is built for sprites, and FlipaClip or RoughAnimator suit freehand drawing.
Choosing between them. Choose Pixel Studio over Stick Nodes if a free export without a stated watermark matters most, and Stick Nodes over Pixel Studio for posable stick figures with no in-app purchases listed.
Best for children and classrooms
Rating 4.1 from 126,470 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $5.99 per item · Developer Cateater · Listing updated 30 December 2025 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.1 (126,470) · read 27 September 2026
Stop Motion Studio is the pick for children because its listing, read 27 September 2026, is rated Everyone (Digital Purchases) with a Teacher Approved badge for ages 9+, carries no ads label and declares no data collected. Its one in-app purchase is $5.99 per item, and the developer's upgrade page, read 27 September 2026, says upgrading from the Free version is a single one-time purchase
. The blunt part: the listing was last updated on 30 December 2025, nearly nine months before this read, and the developer admits Android trails its Apple versions.
On Android the export is documented and the watermark is not. The developer's file formats page, read 27 September 2026, says: Android: The video is exported as an H.264 compressed stream in an MPEG-4 (.mp4) container.
The listing adds Save as animated GIF
, Save all images for further processing
and saving to YouTube in 4K or 1080p, and the manual's Export All Images page, read 27 September 2026, says choosing All Images gives a zip file containing all the project's images
, numbered like FRAME-00001.jpg. The same listing closes with * Some features require in-app purchases. All features are included in the Pro version.
without naming which features, and the developer's upgrade page, read 27 September 2026, names green screen, audio, paint and import as PRO features and no export format either way, so whether GIF and the image zip are free is not stated. The developer's news page, read 27 September 2026, says release 25.11 of 9 November 2025, for iPhone, iPad and macOS, enables watermarking in export (free version)
; the only release there since then that names Android, 25.12 of 26 December 2025, says nothing about a watermark, and no Android release on the page mentions one. The Android listing's version on the 27 September 2026 read is 25.12.8582, the same 25.12 line, so Android runs the release line that watermarks free exports on Apple; no page read says whether the Android build does, and the question stays open. The Windows release 26.06.77 of 17 June 2026 fixed a bug so that the watermark is no longer applied when it's disabled
, so the Windows version watermarks too. The news items for version 27 name only iPhone, iPad and macOS, and the developer writes on its platform page: We have faced difficulties with Google's policies and app store practices. This has sometimes resulted in challenges with maintaining and updating the app on Android.
The manual, read 27 September 2026, says it is available on Android, Amazon Fire and ChromeOS
; offline use and accounts are not documented.
Paid twin. Stop Motion Studio Pro: Rating 4.6 from 4,969 reviews · Installs 100,000+ · Paid $5.99 to install · No in-app purchases listed · Listing updated 30 December 2025 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026 · its Google Play listing. Its Free vs Pro page, read 27 September 2026, says There is no difference between the Pro version and the Free version if you purchase the upgrade in the Free version.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want to draw rather than photograph each frame: FlipaClip and RoughAnimator are built for drawing.
Choosing between them. Choose Stop Motion Studio over Draw Cartoons 2 for a child under 10, because Draw Cartoons 2 is rated Everyone 10+, and Draw Cartoons 2 over Stop Motion Studio for animated characters with no camera involved.
Best pay once, on a phone or a tablet
Rating 4.5 from 3,548 reviews · Installs 50,000+ · Paid $7.99 to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer WeirdHat · Listing updated 25 August 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.5 (3,548) · read 27 September 2026
RoughAnimator is the pay once pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, charges $7.99 to install with no in-app purchases and no ads label, and its Android user guide lists MP4 video, GIF and a PNG image sequence with a transparent background. The Play Data Safety panel declares no data collected. The blunt part: the listing is paid up front at $7.99 and the developer's FAQ mentions no free version or trial, so you pay before drawing a frame, and it has no tweening, so every frame is drawn by hand.
The developer's Android user guide, read 27 September 2026, says: Export MP4 video, GIF, or PNG image sequence. PNG supports transparent background.
The listing says Quicktime video where the guide says MP4; the guide is the more specific source. On money, the developer's FAQ, read the same day, is blunt in its own way: Is it a one time payment or a subscription? One time. I don't like subscriptions.
The same FAQ says each operating system's version is a separate app that must be bought separately
, that there is no hard limit
on animation length, and that you have to draw every frame yourself
. On a phone it answers Yes, but the interface could seem cramped
, and names a large phone with a stylus as the best bet. The listing promises a timeline with unlimited layers. Its Android changelog records version 4.25 on 25 August 2026, a bug fix. Chromebook support and offline use are not documented. It is rated Everyone.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want to try before paying: FlipaClip and Pixel Studio are free to install and both carry the Contains ads label, with the other trade-offs their sections describe.
Choosing between them. Choose RoughAnimator over Callipeg on a phone or on Android 10, and Callipeg over RoughAnimator on a supported tablet if the work has to move into studio software.
Best for keyframe motion graphics
Rating 3.1 from 1,255,194 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.49 to $79.99 per item · Developer Alight Motion · Listing updated 10 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 3.1 (1,255,194) · read 27 September 2026
Alight Motion is the app for keyframed motion graphics rather than drawn frames, and it is the one big name whose listing, read 27 September 2026, states the watermark rule in plain words beside a Contains ads label: Alight Motion is free to use with basic features and a watermark on videos you create.
It sells in-app purchases from $0.49 to $79.99 per item. The blunt part: it rates 3.1 from 1,255,194 reviews on the same read, the lowest rating of the thirteen, and its developer says the app is not for anyone under 16.
The listing says paid membership removes the watermark, and describes the memberships as subscriptions that renew automatically unless cancelled at least 24 hours before the next period, some with a free trial, read 27 September 2026. It lists Export MP4 video, GIF animation, PNG sequences, and stills
without saying which of those the free tier includes, with no layer cap printed. It names no plan and no price, so what membership costs is shown in the app; the Play range of $0.49 to $79.99 per item is not a plan price. The developer's help centre returned HTTP 403 on 27 September 2026, so the listing is the only readable source for the free tier. The listing also asks for at least 1.5GB of RAM. On age, the developer's privacy policy, read 27 September 2026, says The app is not intended for anyone under the age of 16
, and its terms repeat the rule in capitals, while the Play listing is rated Everyone on the same read. The privacy policy names optional cloud project uploads and account login; it does not say an account is needed to animate or export. Offline use is not documented.
Skip this if. Skip it for a child: the developer's own terms say the service is not available to anyone under 16, whatever the Play rating says.
Choosing between them. Choose Alight Motion over VectorMotion if you need video layers, audio and effects, and VectorMotion over Alight Motion if you want nothing sold and no ads label.
Best for stick figure animation
Rating 4.7 from 108,677 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer ForTheLoss Games · Listing updated 3 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.7 (108,677) · read 27 September 2026
Stick Nodes is the stick figure pick, rated 4.7 from 108,677 reviews on its listing read 27 September 2026, the highest rating of the thirteen. It lists no in-app purchases but carries the Contains ads label, and the upgrade is a separate paid app, Stick Nodes Pro, at $3.99. The blunt part: the free app exports GIF only, and because the Pro listing sells No watermark on exports
, this page infers the free GIF is marked; the developer's own site could not be opened to confirm it.
Read the free listing past its opening lines. Further down it says Export to GIF (or MP4 for Pro) to share your animation online.
and * Please note, sounds, filters, and MP4-export are Pro-only features
, read 27 September 2026, so a free user gets GIF and nothing else. The Pro listing, read the same day, adds sound effects on frames, MP4 export, more stickfigure filters and no startup ad to the watermark line; automatic frame tweening is in the feature list of both listings. The free listing pitches itself to young users and schools, calling it a great tool for learning animation, even in a school setting for students or newbies
, and it is rated Everyone (Users Interact) on the 27 September 2026 read. sticknodes.com returned HTTP 403 on 27 September 2026, so offline use, accounts and tablet support are not documented anywhere this page could read. The Data Safety panel declares collection of app activity, app info and device IDs, and says data cannot be deleted.
Paid twin. Stick Nodes Pro: Rating 4.8 from 10,021 reviews · Installs 100,000+ · Paid $3.99 to install · No in-app purchases listed · Listing updated 3 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026 · its Google Play listing.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want to draw characters freehand: Stick Nodes animates rigged stick figures, and FlipaClip or RoughAnimator suit drawing.
Choosing between them. Choose Stick Nodes over Draw Cartoons 2 for stick figures and a one-time $3.99 upgrade, and Draw Cartoons 2 over Stick Nodes for ready-made characters and props.
Best professional tablet studio
Rating 4.3 from 207 reviews · Installs 1,000+ · Paid $14.99 to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer ENOBEN · Listing updated 12 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.3 (207) · read 27 September 2026
Callipeg is the professional tablet pick: its listing, read 27 September 2026, charges $14.99 to install with no in-app purchases and no ads label, and its FAQ lists MP4, GIF, PNG and TGA as stills or sequences, plus PEG, JSON, OCA and XDTS for moving work into other studio software. The Data Safety panel declares no data collected. The blunt part: the developer supports tablets only, running Android 11 or later with at least 4 GB of RAM and not OxygenOS, and its rating of 4.3 rests on 207 reviews.
The Callipeg FAQ, read 27 September 2026, gives the export list in one line, Supported export formats include PEG, MP4, HEVC, GIF, PNG, TGA, JSON, OCA and XDTS
, and footnotes HEVC as available on iPad and iPhone only. The listing also names .psd export, which the FAQ lists only as an import, so treat PSD export on Android as unconfirmed. The FAQ says Callipeg does not require a permanent internet connection to access the app and animate
, and the features page promises No hard limit on number of layers or sheets
and a canvas up to 4K. The same FAQ lists desktop versions on the Microsoft Store, on Steam for Windows and Linux, and for macOS, and says .peg files open across them, but purchases from Google Play and the other stores are managed independently
, so the Android licence does not carry over. The FAQ prices the tablet app at US$15, the listing at $14.99. It is rated Everyone.
Skip this if. Skip it on a phone: the developer supports tablets only.
Choosing between them. Choose Callipeg over Krita on a tablet if you want a finished paid tool, and Krita over Callipeg if you would rather pay nothing and can live with a beta that exports a sequence or a video, not both.
Free vector animation, nothing sold
Rating 3.2 from 1,303 reviews · Installs 500,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer ReMotion Apps · Listing updated 23 May 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 3.2 (1,303) · read 27 September 2026
VectorMotion is the only free app on this page whose listing, read 27 September 2026, carries neither the Contains ads label nor an in-app purchase range, and it calls itself a completely free (and Ad-Free) tool for all your design and animation needs
. Its export list is wide: MP4 and GIF animations, JPEG, PNG and GIF images, SVG and PDF documents, and its own project files. The blunt part: it rates 3.2 from 1,303 reviews, its listing was last updated on 23 May 2026, and neither the listing nor the developer says whether exports carry a watermark.
The listing promises Create as much scenes as you need in a project without any restrictions on size or animation length
, grammar as printed, and describes keyframes with easing, path masks, simple 3D transforms and a sequencer for adding audio. The developer's privacy page, last updated 12 February 2026 and read 27 September 2026, says No third-party analytics or advertising frameworks are used in VectorMotion. No internet connection is needed to use the application's full suite of features.
It names Firebase Crashlytics for crash reports, which matches the Data Safety panel's declared collection of app info and device IDs. Image sequence export and tablet support are not documented. It is rated Everyone.
Skip this if. Skip it for frame-by-frame drawing: it is a vector and keyframe tool, and FlipaClip or RoughAnimator suit hand-drawn frames.
Choosing between them. Choose VectorMotion over Krita if you want vector shapes and keyframes on any Android device, and Krita over VectorMotion for painted frames on a tablet.
Free tablet beta, nothing paywalled
Rating 3.3 from 6,445 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $2.49 to $13.99 per item · Developer Stichting Krita Foundation · Listing updated 21 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 3.3 (6,445) · read 27 September 2026
Krita locks no feature behind a payment: the developer's 5.3.3 release notes, read 27 September 2026, say no features are locked behind a paywall
, and the in-app purchases from $2.49 to $13.99 per item on its listing read the same day are supporter purchases that unlock resource bundles. It carries no ads label and the Data Safety panel declares no data collected. The blunt part: its own listing says the Android build is not suitable for real work yet
, it is not offered for phones, and it rates 3.3 from 6,445 reviews.
Animation export on Android has had a rough year. The 5.3.3 notes, dated 29 July 2026, say All animation export and import functionality has been removed for now
on Android; the 5.3.4 notes, dated 15 September 2026 and read 27 September 2026, say the release finally brings video exports to Android
, and the listing's version on the 27 September 2026 read is 5.3.4. The Krita manual, read 27 September 2026, sets the limits: You can only either export an image sequence or a video, not both.
Sequences are forced to PNG, video goes through the phone's own encoder, and the manual says transparent elements in a video will instead render them as black
. The manual does not list which video formats the Android encoder offers. The listing says the interface is optimized for big screen devices (tablets and chromebooks)
. It is rated Everyone (In-App Purchases), with a Play family age band of All ages.
Skip this if. Skip it on a phone, or for work with a deadline: the listing says it is not offered for phones and not suitable for real work.
Choosing between them. Choose Krita over VectorMotion for painted frames on a tablet, and VectorMotion over Krita for vector keyframes on a phone.
Animate without drawing every frame
Rating 4.6 from 380,218 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $19.99 per item · Developer Zaliv Armenia · Listing updated 6 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.6 (380,218) · read 27 September 2026
Draw Cartoons 2 animates ready-made and self-built characters with skeletons and tweening, so the app fills the frames between your keyframes; its listing, read 27 September 2026, carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $0.99 to $19.99 per item. The blunt part: the free app's format, watermark and GIF questions all go unanswered, because the developer's site is a placeholder, and the listing sells Unlimited video export
as premium without stating the free limit.
The listing's premium line reads Unlimited video export, extended item library, advanced item constructor, ad-free experience
, read 27 September 2026, and it names no container, GIF, image sequence, layer cap or watermark. The developer link on the listing, what.drawingcartoons.net, served only an under construction notice on 27 September 2026. The listing pitches it to children as a Safe, creative outlet for young animators
, while its content rating on the same read is Everyone 10+, with Fantasy Violence and Mild Blood as descriptors and Digital Purchases as an interactive element; it is the only app of the thirteen rated above Everyone. The Data Safety panel declares that device IDs may be shared with third parties and that data cannot be deleted. It requires Android 10.
Paid twin. Draw Cartoons 2 PRO: Rating 4.6 from 6,390 reviews · Installs 50,000+ · Paid $9.99 to install · No in-app purchases listed · Listing updated 7 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026 · its Google Play listing. Its listing, read the same day, says animations can be saved as video (MP4 format) or GIF
, a line the free listing does not carry.
Skip this if. Skip it for a child under 10: the listing is rated Everyone 10+ for Fantasy Violence and Mild Blood, whatever its own pitch to young animators says.
Choosing between them. Choose Draw Cartoons 2 over Prisma3D for flat cartoon characters, and Prisma3D over Draw Cartoons 2 for 3D models you build and animate yourself.
The only 3D animation app here
Rating 3.3 from 55,747 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $64.99 per item · Developer Prisma3D · Listing updated 21 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 3.3 (55,747) · read 27 September 2026
Prisma3D is the one 3D modelling and keyframe animation app on this page, and its free video is probably marked: its Parent Guide, read 27 September 2026, lists No watermark in the created videos
among the Pro features, so this page infers the free export carries one. Its listing sells in-app purchases from $0.99 to $64.99 per item and carries no Contains ads label. The blunt part: it rates 3.3 from 55,747 reviews, and the developer's own guide still describes ads in the free version, in a sentence written for child users.
That sentence, from the Prisma3D Parent Guide, read 27 September 2026, word for word: In the free version of the app, all ads are non-personalized for children.
The next sentence reads In Prisma3D Pro, no ads are shown at all.
The listing shows no ads label on the same read, and this page prints both rather than choosing. The guide also says There are no user accounts
, that the app asks for a birth date on first launch, and that for children under 13 in the U.S. and under 16 elsewhere Prisma3D does not collect personal data
; the Play Data Safety panel, as the developer declares it, says location, app activity and two other data types may be shared with third parties. The developer's home page says rendering Supports Resolutions up to 1080p and 4k on modern devices
, and the listing names 3D model export to .obj, .fbx, .gltf, .stl and .ply. The video container, GIF and image sequence are not documented, and no Pro price is printed. It is rated Everyone.
Skip this if. Skip it for 2D animation: it is a 3D modeller, and every other app in the table works in 2D.
Choosing between them. Choose Prisma3D over Alight Motion for 3D models you build yourself, and Alight Motion over Prisma3D for 2D motion graphics with MP4, GIF and PNG sequence named on its listing, free tier not stated.
A painting app that also animates
Rating 4.5 from 3,004,147 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $2.99 to $79.99 per item · Developer ibis inc. · Listing updated 25 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.5 (3,004,147) · read 27 September 2026
ibis Paint X is a painting app first, and its listing, read 27 September 2026, calls it a full-featured illustration and animation app for smartphones and tablets
; it rates 4.5 from 3,004,147 reviews at 100,000,000+ installs, the largest review base here. It carries the Contains ads label and sells in-app purchases from $2.99 to $79.99 per item. The blunt part: the developer's Premium page, read 27 September 2026, lists Hiding Watermarks on the Video
as a Premium feature, so this page infers the free video is marked, although the Premium page does not say whether that line covers animation exports specifically and the Video Mode tutorial mentions no watermark; animation at any size is Premium too with the free limit unstated, and no page read documents GIF or image sequence export.
The ibis Paint Premium page, read 27 September 2026, lists that line beside Creating Animation works of any size
and Adding Audio to Animation Artworks
, and prints Premium at $4.49 per month or $27.99 per year and an ad removal upgrade at $15.99 once, each with the warning Price varies depending on the application store and country/region
. On export, the Video Mode tutorial, read the same day, says the Save Animated Video option under Back is how you export a video in a format such as MOV or MP4
, and warns that converting to Video Mode cannot be undone. The listing is rated Everyone (Users Interact) on the 27 September 2026 read, and the Data Safety panel declares that location, personal info and four other data types may be shared with third parties. Its drawing tools are weighed as a drawing app on Best Drawing Apps for Android.
Skip this if. Skip it if animation is the main job rather than an extra: FlipaClip documents its export rules in full and is built for frames first.
Choosing between them. Choose ibis Paint X over FlipaClip if you already paint in it and want the occasional animated piece, and FlipaClip over ibis Paint X if animation is the main job.
Offline flipbook, no ads label
Rating 4.2 from 219 reviews · Installs 50,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.99 to $9.99 per item · Developer ZenByte App Agency · Listing updated 28 August 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.2 (219) · read 27 September 2026
Flip Animation, with no ads label and in-app purchases from $1.99 to $9.99 per item, makes the boldest free export claim of the thirteen, and its own developer contradicts it: the listing, read 27 September 2026, says No watermarks on free exports
, while the developer's terms, read the same day, say Free users' GIF and video exports include a "FlipAnimation" watermark and "FlipAnimation.app" branding.
The blunt part: the two sources cannot both be right, neither this page nor the listing can tell you which applies to the Android build, and its rating of 4.2 rests on 219 reviews.
The Flip Animation terms are dated 4 May 2026, five days before the Android release of 9 May 2026 shown on the listing, and say subscriptions are processed through the Apple App Store
. Their price table lists the free plan as Up to 3 projects, basic tools, GIF export with watermark
and the weekly plan as Unlimited projects, all tools, HD export, no watermark
, while section 8 of the same terms says free users' GIF and video exports include a "FlipAnimation" watermark
; the listing's export list of GIF, MP4, PDF and ZIP does not say which formats are free. The developer FAQ, read 27 September 2026, says free users can create up to 3 projects
and export GIF animations with a small watermark
, gives Apple-only restore steps, and names Android 5.0 where the listing requires Android 7.0. It lists GIF, MP4 with audio, printable sheets and a ZIP of every frame as PNG. So the 3-project cap and the watermark rest on pages written for the Apple version, and the Android listing says the opposite on the watermark and nothing on projects. The listing also says the app Works completely offline
and is made for your phone or tablet
. The Data Safety panel declares no data collected, and it is rated Everyone.
Skip this if. Skip it if you need to know before you start whether the free export is clean: Pixel Studio's developer says so in writing, although its listing carries the Contains ads label, and RoughAnimator and Callipeg have no free tier to mark.
Choosing between them. Choose Flip Animation over FlipaClip if no ads label matters more than documentation, and FlipaClip over Flip Animation if you want export rules that the developer states once, consistently.
The thirteen apps split by how a frame is made before they split by price. Drawn frame by frame in 2D: FlipaClip, RoughAnimator, Callipeg, Flip Animation, Krita and ibis Paint X, with Pixel Studio doing the same for pixel art. Posed or keyframed, so the app fills the frames between: Stick Nodes for stick figures, Draw Cartoons 2 for cut-out characters, Alight Motion for motion graphics and VectorMotion for vector shapes. Photographed: Stop Motion Studio, built around the camera. And in 3D there is one, Prisma3D. If you pick the wrong kind of tool, no export setting will fix it, so settle this before reading the watermark column.
One developer says in its own words that the free export is marked, FlipaClip. One listing says so, Alight Motion's. Three are inferred from what the paid tier sells, Stick Nodes, ibis Paint X and Prisma3D. One developer page says the free export is clean, Pixel Studio's, in a statement dated 4 October 2023, on a pixel art app whose listing carries the Contains ads label. Flip Animation's listing and its developer's terms contradict each other. Four say nothing either way: Stop Motion Studio on Android, VectorMotion, Krita and Draw Cartoons 2. RoughAnimator and Callipeg are paid up front, so there is no free export to mark. So for freehand drawing, as opposed to pixel art, no free app here has a developer page promising an unmarked export that nothing contradicts. Read the source label as well as the answer. A developer's own help page is stronger than a listing line, and an inference from a paid tier's feature list is weaker than both, which is why the table prints the label beside every value. Silence is the most common answer and it is not a no: an app that documents nothing may still stamp its export, and the only way to know before you install is a developer who says so.
A GIF carries no sound: FlipaClip's own help article says a GIF export will not include any sound files you have added. Transparency needs the right format too. FlipaClip says its transparent background works only with GIF or PNG sequence, and PNG sequence is a paid feature there; RoughAnimator's guide says its PNG sequence supports a transparent background; the Krita manual says video renders transparent areas black. For a PNG sequence without paying, the documented route is Krita, per its manual read 27 September 2026; Alight Motion's listing names PNG sequences among its exports but does not say whether the free tier includes them. If the finished file is a GIF that is too large to send, Best GIF Apps for Android · Make, Edit and Send Animations covers shrinking and fixing loops.
Eleven of the thirteen are free to install, and only one of those, VectorMotion, carries neither the Contains ads label nor an in-app purchase range on the 27 September 2026 read. Six carry the Contains ads label: FlipaClip, Pixel Studio, Alight Motion, Stick Nodes, Draw Cartoons 2 and ibis Paint X. Nine print an in-app purchase range, from Stop Motion Studio's single $5.99 per item to ibis Paint X's $2.99 to $79.99 per item. Two developers publish no price for their subscriptions at all, FlipaClip for Plus and Alight Motion for membership, so the price is the one shown in the app. Four free apps have a paid twin on Play with an install price: Stick Nodes Pro, Pixel Studio PRO, Stop Motion Studio Pro and Draw Cartoons 2 PRO, each with its figures in the app's section above, though Pixel Studio PRO still sells in-app purchases. For Stick Nodes the twin is also the export route: the Pro listing adds MP4 export and sells no watermark on exports. Sites offering modified copies that promise no watermark are neither of those routes, and this page links none of them.
Two apps are tablet tools by their developers' own words: Callipeg supports tablets running Android 11 or later with 4 GB of RAM, and Krita's listing says it is not offered for phones yet and is meant for tablets and Chromebooks. RoughAnimator runs on a phone but its developer says the interface could seem cramped. FlipaClip lists phones, tablets and Chromebooks; Stop Motion Studio lists Android, Amazon Fire and ChromeOS; Pixel Studio, Alight Motion and Flip Animation mention phones and tablets on their listings. Prisma3D, Stick Nodes, Draw Cartoons 2 and VectorMotion do not document tablet support either way, all read 27 September 2026.
FlipaClip's help centre says animating can be done offline, with cloud imports and social uploads excepted. Callipeg's FAQ says no permanent internet connection is needed. VectorMotion's privacy page says no connection is needed for the full feature set. Flip Animation's listing says it works completely offline. The other nine do not say, read 27 September 2026, which is a gap in the documentation rather than evidence that they need a connection.
Choose FlipaClip over Pixel Studio if you draw freehand and can accept a logo or a subscription, and Pixel Studio over FlipaClip if the work is pixel art and an unmarked free export matters more than the drawing tools. Choose RoughAnimator over FlipaClip if you would rather pay once than subscribe or watch ads. Choose Stop Motion Studio over all three for a child or a classroom with a camera, and FlipaClip over Stop Motion Studio for a drawn animation.
Every content rating here is the ESRB label on the United States listing, read 27 September 2026. Stop Motion Studio is rated Everyone (Digital Purchases) and is the only app of the thirteen with a Teacher Approved badge, for ages 9+. Draw Cartoons 2 is rated Everyone 10+ for Fantasy Violence and Mild Blood, although its listing pitches it to young animators. Alight Motion is rated Everyone on Play while its developer's terms say the service is not available to anyone under 16. FlipaClip is rated Everyone (In-App Purchases), and its help centre says that under 13 there are certain account features that will be unavailable to you such as a FlipaClip account and contest participation
(FlipaClip help centre, read 27 September 2026); the date of birth is asked at install, and the developer warns that correcting it means reinstalling, which loses projects that are not backed up. Prisma3D is rated Everyone and its Parent Guide says there are no user accounts. Stick Nodes is rated Everyone (Users Interact) and pitches itself to schools. Every Data Safety line on this page is the developer's own declaration to Google, not an independent check.
Clip Studio Paint rates 4.4 from 50,245 reviews at 10,000,000+ installs, with in-app purchases from $0.99 to $119.99 per item and no ads label, listing updated 3 September 2026, all checked 27 September 2026. It is left out because its listing, read 27 September 2026, says that on a tablet You need an annual or monthly plan to save or export your artwork
, and limits phones to a free trial of 30 hours
that refreshes monthly, and Clip Studio support, read the same day, says animations with more than 24 frames need the EX plan, because PRO and DEBUT stop at 24. Its free tier as a drawing app is set out on New Android drawing apps in 2026: 6 listings, free tiers compared.
Adobe Express rates 4.6 from 856,619 reviews at 100,000,000+ installs, with in-app purchases from $9.99 to $99.99 per item and no ads label, listing updated 11 September 2026, checked 27 September 2026. Its listing describes a template, photo and video editor whose animation lines are quick actions, Convert to GIF from images & videos
and Animate a character with your voice
, and it describes no frame or keyframe timeline; helpx.adobe.com returned HTTP 403 and adobe.com could not be read from this site on 27 September 2026, so no watermark or export rule could be read.
Animation Desk rates 3.2 from 16,202 reviews at 1,000,000+ installs, carries the Contains ads label and sells in-app purchases from $2.99 to $59.99 per item, checked 27 September 2026. Its listing was last updated on 31 May 2024, nearly 28 months before this read, still leads with Create Your Animated NFTs and Sell on OpenSea
, and caps GIF export at 640 x 480 px.
Stickman: draw animation maker rates 4.4 from 264,853 reviews at 10,000,000+ installs, carries the Contains ads label and sells in-app purchases from $0.99 to $10.99 per item, listing updated 10 July 2026, checked 27 September 2026. Its listing, read 27 September 2026, names no export format and no watermark rule, and its Data Safety panel declares data shared with third parties that cannot be deleted; Stick Nodes answers the same need with its export rules on the listing.
TweenCraft Cartoon Video Maker rates 3.5 from 86,294 reviews at 10,000,000+ installs, carries the Contains ads label and sells in-app purchases from $0.49 to $239.99 per item, the widest range of any app checked, listing updated 26 September 2026, checked 27 September 2026. You pick pre-drawn characters rather than animate your own, in its words No need to learn drawing and animation
, its listing names no export format or watermark rule, and its Data Safety panel says data is not encrypted in transit.
Procreate Dreams is not an Android app: its developer's page, read 27 September 2026, sells it exclusively from the App Store
and says it supports iPads able to run iPadOS 16.3, so it has no Play listing to weigh here.
Smaller flipbook and stick figure apps crowd the same search, among them Stopmo, released on 12 September 2026 with no rating shown on 27 September 2026, whose listing, read 27 September 2026, promises no account, no ads, no watermark
while the developer's own site says every export carries a small Stopmo Studio mark
(Stopmo Studio site, read 27 September 2026). They carry small review bases or none, and their documentation is thin or, as with Stopmo, contradicts the listing, so none is ranked here.
Yes. FlipaClip's own help article, read 27 September 2026, says movies carry a watermarked logo by default and that removing it is a premium feature, which means a FlipaClip Plus subscription or the legacy premium purchase. MP4 and GIF export are free with the logo; PNG sequence with a transparent background is premium. The listing's line about exporting MP4, GIF or PNG with transparency does not say which formats are free. Checked 27 September 2026.
One developer page here says so with no source contradicting it. Pixel Studio's GitHub wiki, edited 4 October 2023 and read 27 September 2026, says free users get no watermarks, though it is a pixel art app, its listing reserves unlimited MP4 export for PRO and it carries the Contains ads label. Stop Motion Studio on Android, VectorMotion, Krita and Draw Cartoons 2 do not document a watermark either way. Flip Animation's listing says no watermark while its developer's terms say free exports are marked. RoughAnimator and Callipeg are paid once, with no free tier. Checked 27 September 2026.
FlipaClip does not publish the price outside the app. Its cost article, read 27 September 2026, prints no figure and points to the diamond icon inside the app, and the only public price is the Play range of $2.99 to $39.99 per item on the United States listing, which cannot be matched to a plan. The developer's trial page says the 7-day free trial is available once per Apple ID or Google account. Checked 27 September 2026.
It is free to install with a watermark on videos, per its own listing read 27 September 2026, and it carries the Contains ads label with in-app purchases from $0.49 to $79.99 per item. It is not meant for children: the developer's privacy policy says the app is not intended for anyone under the age of 16, and its terms say the same, although Play rates it Everyone. Stop Motion Studio, rated Everyone with a Teacher Approved badge for ages 9+, is the documented pick for children. Checked 27 September 2026.
Without paying, per the sources read 27 September 2026, Krita's manual says it renders a PNG sequence or a video, not both. Alight Motion's listing names PNG sequences among its exports but does not say whether the free tier includes them, and it carries the Contains ads label. Paid routes are RoughAnimator, with a transparent background, Callipeg, with PNG and TGA sequences, and FlipaClip Plus. Stop Motion Studio zips every frame as JPEG per its manual, with the free tier not stated, and Flip Animation's Apple-written FAQ lists a ZIP of every frame as PNG. Checked 27 September 2026.
Four document it, read 27 September 2026. FlipaClip's help centre says animating can be done offline, except cloud imports and social uploads. Callipeg's FAQ says no permanent internet connection is needed to animate. VectorMotion's privacy page says no connection is needed for the full feature set. Flip Animation's listing says it works completely offline. The other nine do not say either way, which is a gap in their documentation rather than proof that they need a connection. Checked 27 September 2026.
Callipeg is built for one: its developer supports tablets running Android 11 or later with at least 4 GB of RAM, not OxygenOS, for a one-time $14.99 on the listing read 27 September 2026. Krita locks nothing behind a paywall, its in-app purchases being supporter purchases, but its listing calls the Android build a beta for tablets and Chromebooks. FlipaClip, Alight Motion, Pixel Studio and Flip Animation mention tablets too, and Stop Motion Studio lists Amazon Fire and ChromeOS. RoughAnimator works on both, and its developer says a phone could seem cramped. Checked 27 September 2026.
Prisma3D is the only 3D modelling and keyframe animation app on this page. It is free to install with in-app purchases from $0.99 to $64.99 per item on its listing read 27 September 2026, and its developer's Parent Guide lists no watermark in created videos as a Pro feature, so this page infers free videos are marked. The listing carries no ads label, while the same guide says ads in the free version are non-personalized for children. Checked 27 September 2026.
Checked 27 September 2026: first publication; all 13 Play listings read on the United States English storefront on 27 September 2026, and every rating, review count, install band, price, in-app purchase range, Contains ads label and Listing updated date on this page is from that read, as are the figures for the four paid twins and the five apps checked and left out. Developer pages quoted in each section were opened on 27 September 2026. Also checked and not listed: Picsart Animator, Animatic by Inkboard and TupiTube returned HTTP 404 on the United States store on 27 September 2026 and are not recommendations here. Toontastic 3D is listed, but its last update was 1 November 2017, as read on 27 September 2026, and it was left out as dormant. sticknodes.com, support.alightmotion.com and helpx.adobe.com returned HTTP 403 and adobe.com could not be read from this site on 27 September 2026, so nothing here rests on them. The table and the picks sit at the top of the page.