Checked 27 September 2026
Fourteen Bible apps, weighed on what a listing and a developer's own pages prove before you install: whether text and audio work offline and on what condition, whether the listing carries the Contains ads label, what is sold inside the app, and what each developer itself calls free.
YouVersion is the pick, AndBible the one that is free, offline by its developer's own description and sells nothing, Olive Tree the offline study library, Dwell the paid one for narrated audio offline. Six of the fourteen carry neither the Contains ads label nor an in-app purchase range. Our answer, the free pick and the table ↓
YouVersion is our best overall pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, shows no Contains ads label and no in-app purchases on a 4.9 rating from 9,268,796 reviews, and its help centre adds that offline reading covers select versions once you are signed in, although its audio is not available offline.
AndBible is our free and offline pick because its developer's site, read 27 September 2026, calls it an offline Bible study application that is completely free and contains no advertisements, and its listing on the same date shows no ads label, no in-app purchases and no data collected, though its only voice is text to speech.
Olive Tree is our offline study pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, says you need no Wi-Fi connection for your Bible, audio Bible or study tools and carries no ads label, although downloads need a signed-in account, offline audio covers titles you buy, and in-app purchases run from $0.99 to $399.99 per item.
Dwell is our narrated audio pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, offers downloads for offline listening with no ads label, at $59.99 a year for one person after a 7 day trial and in-app purchases from $4.99 to $199.99 per item.
Data checked: 27 September 2026.
Every app here is checked against its own Google Play listing on the United States English storefront (gl=US, hl=en): rating and review count, the install band, the in-app purchase range, the Contains ads label, the Listing updated date and the Data safety summary, all read on 27 September 2026. Offline is split into text and audio because the two largest apps treat them differently, and each cell keeps the condition the source attaches to it, such as a signed-in account, select versions or a paid tier, and each app's section names and links the source. Not stated means no page read says either way; it is a finding about the documentation, not about the app. Where a developer's price page and the Play range differ, both are printed, and where no price is published the table says so. Quotations from developers are cut rather than altered, and each is linked and dated where it appears. The Logos, Tecarta and Olive Tree help centres were read through their public help-centre article feeds, cited by each article's own address. biblegateway.com answered only with a notice that it is unavailable to consumers in the United Kingdom and European Union, which is quoted in its section, so no Bible Gateway help or price page could be read, and literalword.com returned an error, so no Literal Word developer page could be read. Ratings are weighted by country on Google Play and review counts move by a few between reads, so each figure carries the date it was read. Nothing here rests on our own use of the apps.
Best overall, free with no ads label
Rating 4.9 from 9,268,796 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer Life.Church · Listing updated 19 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.9 (9,268,796) · read 27 September 2026
YouVersion is the best overall pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label and no in-app purchases, is rated 4.9 from 9,268,796 reviews, and describes the app as completely free
. Offline reading is real but conditional: the listing says you can download select versions to read offline
, and YouVersion's help centre adds that you must be signed in. The blunt part: its audio Bibles are not available offline
, per the same listing.
Its article on downloading an offline Bible, read 27 September 2026, says Not all Bible versions are available for download
and asks you to Verify you’re signed in to the App
, and it confirms that audio cannot be downloaded for offline use. YouVersion says on its own page for the app, read the same day, that Everything we make is available for free because of a generous community of people like you
. The same web page says Read or listen to Scripture with audio and offline access
; this page goes by the listing and the help centre, which both say audio is not available offline. The listing counts 2,500+ Bible versions in 2,100+ languages alongside thousands of reading plans, naming KJV, NIV, NLT, ESV, NASB and NRSV among its popular versions, read 27 September 2026. Its Data safety page, read the same day, lists email address as shared for Analytics and Advertising or marketing, and political or religious beliefs as shared for Analytics, although the app carries no ads label.
Skip this if. Skip it if you need audio without a connection: its own help centre says audio cannot be downloaded, and Olive Tree, Logos and Dwell are the three apps in the table whose listings or help centres state offline audio without contradiction.
Choosing between them. Choose YouVersion over Bible App Lite for the larger library of versions, and Bible App Lite over YouVersion on a phone short of storage or signal, which is what its developer says it is built for.
Offline study library, audio you buy
Rating 4.7 from 132,049 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $399.99 per item · Developer Gospel Technologies · Listing updated 4 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.7 (132,049) · read 27 September 2026
Olive Tree is the offline study pick because its listing, read 27 September 2026, says You don’t need a WiFi connection to access your Bible, audio Bible, or any other Bible study tools
, and it carries no Contains ads label. The blunt part: downloading anything needs a signed-in account, offline audio means audio titles you buy, and in-app purchases run from $0.99 to $399.99 per item on the same read, on a library the listing describes as 1000s of resources (free & paid)
.
The price the listing prints sits under its own heading, BIBLE STUDY PACK SUBSCRIPTIONS: Monthly: $5.99 USD per month
, with $29.99 per six months or $59.99 per year after a 14 day free trial, read 27 September 2026. Olive Tree's help article on Android subscriptions, read the same day, puts the Bible Study Pack or Starter Pack at $2.99 to $5.99 a month, a range that includes the listing's $5.99, and Commentary Select at $8.99 to $19.99 a month. On downloads, its help article on downloading books says To download your Bibles and books, first download the app and sign in to your account
, and its Audio FAQ says Yes, audio Bibles and audio books can be used offline once they are downloaded
, both read 27 September 2026. The listing says the app comes with NIV, ESV, KJV, NKJV and more, lists MSG, NLT, NRSV, CSB and NASB as available for in-app purchase, and its Data safety section declares no data shared with third parties, all read the same day. The listing requires Android 10 or later, read 27 September 2026, so a phone on Android 9 or earlier cannot install it.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want nothing sold inside the app: YouVersion, AndBible, Blue Letter Bible and Literal Word list no in-app purchases at all. Skip it too if your phone runs Android 9 or earlier, because the listing requires Android 10 or later, read 27 September 2026.
Choosing between them. Choose Olive Tree over Logos for a library its developer says works without a connection, and Logos over Olive Tree if you would rather start without an account, which the Logos FAQ allows in a limited version.
Free, offline and nothing sold
Rating 4.7 from 7,856 reviews · Installs 500,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer Sykerö Software · Listing updated 5 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.7 (7,856) · read 27 September 2026
AndBible is the pick for a Bible that is free, offline and sells nothing, because its developer describes it as an offline Bible study application
that is open-source, completely free, and contains no advertisements
(andbible.org, read 27 September 2026), and its listing on the same date shows no ads label, no in-app purchases and no data collected. The blunt part: its library holds only public-domain or licensed texts, the ESV is not among them, and listening is text to speech rather than a narrated recording.
The developer's FAQ, read 27 September 2026, says All documents available in AndBible are either in the public domain or licensed for distribution
, and explains that the ESV publishers decided it is no longer in their interest to publish towards the SWORD platform
, the module format AndBible reads. Its site puts its library at over 1500 documents in over 700 languages
, legally distributed by Crosswire and other SWORD repositories
, read the same day, and the app offers cross-references, commentaries and reading plans. Listening is described as advanced text to speech, a synthetic voice reading the text rather than a recorded audio Bible, and whether it works offline is not stated. Its Data safety section, read 27 September 2026, says the developer declares no data collected and none shared. If a spoken voice is the main need, the options Android already has are set out in Text-to-Speech Apps to Read Articles Aloud on Android, and What Is Already Built In.
Skip this if. Skip it if the translation you read is not in the public domain or licensed to the SWORD platform, as with the ESV, which its FAQ says is no longer published there.
Choosing between them. Choose AndBible over YouVersion for nothing sold and no data collected, and YouVersion over AndBible for 2,500+ versions and recorded audio, which plays online only.
Narrated audio offline, paid
Rating 4.8 from 14,776 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $4.99 to $199.99 per item · Developer Dwell App, LLC · Listing updated 26 August 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (14,776) · read 27 September 2026
Dwell is the pick for narrated audio without a connection because its listing, read 27 September 2026, offers a Download for offline listening anytime, anywhere
, its help centre says offline listening is available on Android, and it carries no Contains ads label. The blunt part: this is a subscription rather than a free app, since the free tier is free sample plan content
, full access costs $59.99 a year for one person after a 7 day trial, and in-app purchases run $4.99 to $199.99 per item on the same read.
The listing prints three tiers, read 27 September 2026: Solo at $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month, Duo at $89.99 a year or $14.99 a month, and Family at $109.99 a year or $17.99 a month. Dwell's website also sells a lifetime plan, Dwell for Life $399.99
(dwellapp.io, read the same day), which is above the $199.99 ceiling of the Play range, so it is bought on the web. Its help centre, read 27 September 2026, says Yes! Offline listening is available on both iOS and Android
and, for downloaded content, that Read works offline
while Read Along is not yet available offline
. Its article on purchases, read the same day, says To unlock everything, a Dwell subscription is needed. Aside from a subscription, there are no other in-app purchases
. The listing names 20+ voice recordings and 14 translations, including ESV, NIV, NLT, KJV, CSB, NKJV, NASB and The Message, and the help centre says any fully AI-generated voice is labelled Digital Voice, both read 27 September 2026. Its Data safety section, read the same day, declares no data shared with third parties and states Data isn’t encrypted
.
Data isn’t encrypted
Skip this if. Skip it if you will not pay a subscription: Olive Tree documents offline audio for titles you buy, Logos for downloaded media, and YouVersion streams its audio at no cost, online only.
Choosing between them. Choose Dwell over Olive Tree when listening is the whole point and a subscription is acceptable, and Olive Tree over Dwell when you want study Bibles, commentaries and Greek and Hebrew tools, which its listing says work without a WiFi connection.
Low storage, no ads label, nothing sold
Rating 4.6 from 1,283,397 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer Life.Church · Listing updated 24 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.6 (1,283,397) · read 27 September 2026
Bible App Lite is listed on Google Play as Holy Bible Offline NIV KJV App, published by Life.Church, the developer of YouVersion, and its listing, read 27 September 2026, says It is completely free, with no ads or in-app purchases
, which matches its missing ads label and empty purchase range. Text downloads for offline reading in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Swahili and more, per the same listing. The blunt part: that listing also says audio requires an internet connection and is not available for offline use
.
YouVersion's own page for the app, read 27 September 2026, says the opposite about audio: Download Bible versions and audio so Scripture is always within reach
. This page prints the listing, because it is what Google Play shows beside the install button, and records that the developer's website disagrees; no help article resolving it was found on 27 September 2026. The same web page says Bible App Lite is built for people who have limited connectivity or devices with limited memory and storage
, and counts 300+ Bible versions. Its Data safety page, read the same day, says the app may share data types with third parties and lists device or other IDs and email address as shared for Advertising or marketing.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want the widest choice of versions: its web page counts 300+ Bible versions against the 2,500+ on the main YouVersion listing, both read 27 September 2026.
Choosing between them. Choose Bible App Lite over AndBible for the NIV and KJV audio its listing includes, which plays online only, and AndBible over Bible App Lite for a developer that declares no data collected or shared, both listings read 27 September 2026.
Deep study, commentaries included
Rating 4.8 from 56,436 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.99 to $164.99 per item · Developer Faithlife · Listing updated 3 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (56,436) · read 27 September 2026
Logos suits commentary and research work while you have a connection, with over 40 free Bibles and books including powerful commentaries
on its listing read 27 September 2026, but that listing also carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $1.99 to $164.99 per item. The blunt part: offline use is limited, because Faithlife's own FAQ lists extended offline use as unsupported and says its guides only work online, and no subscription price is published on the pages read.
The Logos Mobile FAQ, read 27 September 2026, says The current version of our app offers limited offline reading by pre-downloading resources to your device
, adds that reading a book while online does not download it automatically, lists Extended offline usage
under unsupported features, and says Guides only work when online
. Downloaded media is different: Faithlife's help article on downloading media, read the same day, says audio and video resources can be downloaded for use without Wi-Fi or a data connection. You can start without an account, because the same FAQ says You can use a limited version of the Logos app without an account
, adds that an account unlocks more features and books, and warns that the free title list varies over time. The listing, which carries the Contains ads label, marks Study Assistant and Smart Search as limited free uses and says every tool is free to try. No Faithlife page read on 27 September 2026 explains the Contains ads label, and the Logos subscription prices are not published on the pages read. The listing requires Android 12 or later, read 27 September 2026, the highest minimum among the fourteen, so a phone on Android 11 or earlier cannot install it.
Skip this if. Skip it if the phone will spend long stretches without a connection, because Faithlife itself lists extended offline use as unsupported, or if your phone runs Android 11 or earlier, because the listing requires Android 12 or later, read 27 September 2026.
Choosing between them. Choose Logos over Blue Letter Bible for its guides and AI-assisted search, and Blue Letter Bible over Logos for Hebrew and Greek tools with no ads label and nothing sold.
Free Hebrew and Greek study
Rating 4.6 from 19,181 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer Blue Letter Bible · Listing updated 1 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.6 (19,181) · read 27 September 2026
Blue Letter Bible suits original-language study without paying, because its developer's Android page, read 27 September 2026, lists over 15 available Bibles, text commentaries, Hebrew / Greek lexicon, interlinear, dictionaries, word searches, and more
, and its listing on the same date shows no ads label, no in-app purchases and no data collected or shared. The blunt part: its manual documents downloading Bibles but never says whether they work offline, so offline use is not stated.
The Android manual's page on My Bibles, read 27 September 2026, says To add additional Bibles, simply tap the desired Bible and your download will begin
, and none of the manual's chapters uses the word offline. Its Quickstart Guide documents an Audio Bible player, and whether audio plays without a connection is not stated either. The same Android page counts Over 8,000 text commentaries by over 40 different authors
, read the same day. Its Data safety section, read 27 September 2026, says the developer declares that the app does not collect or share any user data. Over 15 Bibles is a short list beside the 2,500+ versions the YouVersion listing counts, so this is a study companion more than a translation library.
Skip this if. Skip it if offline reading must be confirmed before you install, because no Blue Letter Bible page read says it.
Choosing between them. Choose Blue Letter Bible over AndBible for its interlinear and over 8,000 text commentaries, and AndBible over Blue Letter Bible when you want offline use stated by the developer.
Minimal reader, offline, nothing sold
Rating 4.9 from 3,563 reviews · Installs 100,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer Literal Word · Listing updated 9 August 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.9 (3,563) · read 27 September 2026
Literal Word suits a reader who wants a minimal app, because its listing, read 27 September 2026, says The app is 100% free and functional even when you're offline
, promises No ads, articles, or social media
, and shows no ads label, no in-app purchases and no data collected. The blunt part: it names five English translations and states no audio feature, and its developer's website returned an error to every read on 27 September 2026, so everything here rests on the listing.
The listing names NASB 1995, LSB, ESV, NKJV and KJV, read 27 September 2026, and opens on Free and offline
. Its Data safety section, read the same day, says the developer declares no data collected or shared, and records a commitment to follow the Play Families Policy.
Skip this if. Skip it if the translation you read is not among the five its listing names.
Choosing between them. Choose Literal Word over AndBible for a short, fixed list of five translations, and AndBible over Literal Word for a library of over 1,500 documents in over 700 languages.
Many translations to stream, with ads
Rating 4.8 from 112,347 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $299.99 per item · Developer Tecarta, Inc. · Listing updated 7 August 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (112,347) · read 27 September 2026
Life Bible, formerly Tecarta Bible, lets you stream popular translations for free such as the NLT, NIV, KJV, ESV, CSB, NASB, NKJV, AMP, MESSAGE
per its listing read 27 September 2026, and on the same read it carries the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $0.99 to $299.99 per item. The blunt part: its own help centre lists offline download, ad removal and unlimited access to translations, audio, study Bibles and commentaries as Premium benefits, and prices Premium only as as low as a cup of coffee each month
.
Tecarta's help article on Premium, read 27 September 2026, lists Download any title for offline use
, Remove all ads
, Unlimited access to Bible Translations
and Unlimited access to Audio
among the benefits, so the free tier, which carries the Contains ads label, has limits the listing does not spell out, and the Premium price is not published on the pages read. The listing itself says Download any title for offline access
without naming a tier. On advertising, its help article on why a Bible app shows ads, read the same day, says ads will NEVER appear while you are reading the Bible
, and that buying any title priced $4.99 or more turns ads off for a year. Its Data safety section declares no data shared with third parties, and Tecarta says Premium works across Android devices, iPhones, iPads and its website, both read 27 September 2026.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want offline reading without a subscription: AndBible, Literal Word and Bible App Lite state offline text with no ads label and nothing sold.
Choosing between them. Choose Life Bible over Bible Gateway for a 4.8 rating against 2.7 and a developer that says ads never appear while you are reading, and Bible Gateway over Life Bible for the 200+ translations its listing counts, both listings read 27 September 2026.
The ESV from its publisher
Rating 4.7 from 19,848 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $3.99 to $39.99 per item · Developer Crossway · Listing updated 20 February 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.7 (19,848) · read 27 September 2026
ESV Bible is Crossway's own app for the ESV, and its listing, read 27 September 2026, says Access the ESV Global Study Bible for free
, with no Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $3.99 to $39.99 per item. The blunt part: neither the listing nor the ESV.org FAQ says whether the app works offline, the premium tier costs $3.99 a month after a 7 day trial, and the listing was last updated on 20 February 2026, seven months before this read.
The ESV.org FAQ, read 27 September 2026, says Both free apps feature the complete text of the ESV Bible, full access to the ESV Global Study Bible study notes and articles, interactive reading plans, various annotation features, and more
, and says a paid subscription adds premium study and audio features
. Crossway's subscription page, read the same day, prints Free access for 7 days, then $3.99/month (or $39.99/year)
, which matches both ends of the Play range, and adds that there are no refunds for unused time. On audio, the same FAQ is about the ESV.org website rather than the app: it says the site only allows users to stream the ESV audio via their web browser
, and that downloading a complete reading means buying the audio files. The listing calls the app the best possible Bible reading experience for your phone or tablet
, and its Data safety section declares no data shared with third parties, both read 27 September 2026.
Skip this if. Skip it if offline reading has to be confirmed before you install, because neither the listing nor the ESV.org FAQ states it.
Choosing between them. Choose ESV Bible over Olive Tree for the ESV study notes without buying anything, and Olive Tree over ESV Bible for offline reading its developer states.
Catholic edition, text and audio
Rating 4.8 from 6,255 reviews · Installs 100,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.99 to $49.99 per item · Developer Truthguard · Listing updated 18 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (6,255) · read 27 September 2026
Catholic Study Bible App's developer site, read 27 September 2026, prints a $0 plan with the Entire RSV-CE Bible Text
and a complete RSV-CE audio Bible, and its listing on the same date shows no Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $1.99 to $49.99 per item. The blunt part: the Ignatius Catholic Study Bible notes are a separate $49.99 plan, sold only as an in-app purchase. Offline access for the text is stated on both the listing and the site.
The developer's site says the app Includes night mode, offline access, and adjustable text size
, read 27 September 2026, and the listing on the same date repeats offline access among its features; whether the audio plays offline is not stated. The $0 plan also lists syncing on up to six devices, and says the audio is narrated in a single voice from the Proclaim Project. The Study Bible plan at $49.99 adds the Ignatius Catholic Study Bible, and the listing says The Ignatius Catholic Study Bible: Old and New Testaments is only available as an in-app purchase
. Its Data safety section, read the same day, declares no data shared with third parties. Ascension: Catholic Bible, another Catholic edition reader, has a line of its own under the apps checked and left out, below.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want the Ignatius study notes without paying, because the listing says they are sold only in the app.
Choosing between them. Choose Catholic Study Bible App over YouVersion for the RSV-CE text and audio together in one app, and YouVersion over it for a wider choice of versions.
Offline KJV, with ads
Rating 4.9 from 11,387,869 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $49.99 per item · Developer Bíblia Offline · Listing updated 22 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.9 (11,387,869) · read 27 September 2026
Bible Offline-KJV Holy Bible has the most reviews on this page, 4.9 from 11,387,869 on its listing read 27 September 2026, and the listing says plainly Read and study Bible verse WITHOUT internet access
. It is free to install, but the same read shows the Contains ads label and in-app purchases from $0.99 to $49.99 per item. The blunt part: no English help or price page from the developer was found on 27 September 2026, and the site its listing links is a Portuguese page for a differently named app.
The listing says it carries Various Bible verse audio of King James Version KJV
, read 27 September 2026, and does not say whether that audio plays offline. The developer site linked from the listing is a Portuguese page for Bíblia Sagrada Consigo, read the same day. Its Data safety section says the app may share data types with third parties and, in the same summary, that no data is collected. No developer page read describes the advertising, so this page reports the label and nothing more.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want no ads label: Bible App Lite and AndBible both state offline text with no ads label and nothing sold.
Choosing between them. Choose Bible Offline-KJV over Bible App Lite for the Bible quizzes, crosswords and plan audio its listing names, and Bible App Lite over Bible Offline-KJV for no ads label, nothing sold and the NIV as well as the KJV, both listings read 27 September 2026.
Dramatised audio · developer points to Hosanna
Rating 4.5 from 166,984 reviews · Installs 5,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer Faith Comes By Hearing · Listing updated 24 August 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.5 (166,984) · read 27 September 2026
Bible.is, listed on Google Play as Bible - Audio & Video Bibles, offers to Freely access the Bible in 1,300+ languages
with dramatised Scripture, per its listing read 27 September 2026, and it carries no ads label and no in-app purchases. The blunt part: its developer's help centre, read the same day, says Bible.is will retire later this year
, which on that date means before the end of 2026, points users to Hosanna and gives no exact date, and neither the listing nor the help-centre text states offline use.
Faith Comes By Hearing's help article on cost, read 27 September 2026, says It cost $0. Literally, it is free for all people to use anywhere in the world!
The help-centre banner describes Hosanna as the new audio Bible app, rebuilt and including text, audio and video. The developer page linked from the Bible.is listing is titled Hosanna: The Audio Bible App, and its offline line describes Hosanna, not Bible.is. Hosanna's own listing, read 27 September 2026, says Once content is downloaded, it stays available offline
, You do not need an account to use Hosanna
and No subscriptions, no paywalls, and no third-party ads
, and that Creating a free account gives you access to a few additional downloads
, with 87 reviews and 1,000+ installs since its release on 31 July 2026. Hosanna's listing requires Android 10 or later, against Android 7.0 or later for Bible.is, and its Data safety section says it may share data types with third parties, both read 27 September 2026. The Bible.is Data safety section, read the same day, says it may share data types with third parties.
will retire later this year, in a notice read 27 September 2026 that gives no exact date
Skip this if. Skip it if you are installing for the long term, because its own developer says it is being retired; if you are starting fresh, the developer's own route is Hosanna, listed below among the apps checked and left out, whose listing requires Android 10 or later, read 27 September 2026.
Choosing between them. Choose Bible.is over Dwell for dramatised audio with nothing sold, and Dwell over Bible.is for offline listening its developer documents, both read 27 September 2026.
200+ translations, with ads
Rating 2.7 from 40,245 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $3.99 to $69.99 per item · Developer HarperCollins Christian Publishing · Listing updated 23 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 27 September 2026
Google Play listing · 2.7 (40,245) · read 27 September 2026
Bible Gateway's listing, read 27 September 2026, offers 200+ Bible translations and audio Bibles in 15+ languages
and calls them all free to use
, while the same read shows the Contains ads label, in-app purchases from $3.99 to $69.99 per item and a rating of 2.7 from 40,245 reviews. The blunt part: that rating is the lowest on this page, the listing does not mention offline use, and removing ads means Bible Gateway Plus, whose yearly total is not published on the pages read.
The listing opens Completely rebuilt for Spring 2026
and says Go ad-free with Bible Gateway Plus
, read 27 September 2026. It is one of two listings in the table that name tablets, with Read two Bible versions side by side on tablets
. Bible Gateway's own app page could not be read from where this page is checked: on 27 September 2026 it answered that Bible Gateway is currently unavailable to consumers in the United Kingdom and European Union due to technical issues
, so no developer help page on offline use or Plus pricing was read, and the Plus yearly total is not published on the pages read. A star average on Google Play is weighted by country, so this 2.7 is the United States figure, and How to read Google Play star ratings and reviews before you install an app explains why the same app can show a different average elsewhere. Its Data safety section, read the same day, says it may share data types with third parties.
Skip this if. Skip it if you are in the United Kingdom or the European Union: biblegateway.com answered on 27 September 2026 that it is currently unavailable to consumers in the United Kingdom and European Union due to technical issues
, and the same notice answers whether saved notes and progress stay accessible with No, all account data and saved content will no longer be accessible
. Whether the app is affected is not stated.
Choosing between them. Choose Bible Gateway over Life Bible for the 200+ translations and audio Bibles in 15+ languages its listing counts, and Life Bible over Bible Gateway for a listing rated 4.8 rather than 2.7 and a developer that says ads stay out of the reading view, both read 27 September 2026.
The fourteen split on this before they split on price. Ten state offline text in some form, read 27 September 2026: YouVersion for select versions, Bible App Lite, Olive Tree, Logos in a limited form, AndBible, Literal Word, Life Bible as a Premium benefit per its help centre, Bible Offline-KJV, Catholic Study Bible App and Dwell, whose help centre says Read works offline
for downloaded content while Read Along, the text that follows the audio, is not yet available offline
. Four do not state it either way: Blue Letter Bible, whose manual documents downloads without using the word offline, ESV Bible, Bible.is and Bible Gateway. Offline audio is narrower still. Three developers document it: Olive Tree for audio titles you have bought and downloaded, Logos for downloaded media, and Dwell for its subscription. YouVersion and Bible App Lite say on their listings that audio is not available offline, although YouVersion's web page for Bible App Lite says audio downloads, and the other nine do not say. Of those three, Olive Tree ties offline audio to titles you buy and Dwell to a subscription, and Logos does not say whether any of its free titles include audio; Hosanna, listed below among the apps checked and left out, says its downloaded content stays available offline.
Offline rarely comes without a condition on these listings. YouVersion covers select versions and its help centre asks you to be signed in. Olive Tree's help centre says to sign in to your account before downloading, and its offline audio applies to titles you buy. Logos calls its offline reading limited, lists extended offline use as unsupported and says guides only work online. Life Bible's listing says Download any title for offline access
without naming a tier, while its help centre lists offline download as a Premium benefit. Dwell needs a subscription beyond its sample content. Only AndBible, Literal Word, Bible App Lite, Catholic Study Bible App and Bible Offline-KJV state offline text with no tier or account named on any page read, and of those five only Bible Offline-KJV carries the Contains ads label. Downloaded versions and audio take room on the phone, and How to Actually Free Up Storage on Android covers what to clear when downloads stop fitting.
The listings and developer pages read on 27 September 2026 name translations unevenly, and a named translation is not always a free one. This is what each prints, with no view taken on the translations themselves.
All fourteen are free to install on the 27 September 2026 read, which is why the table asks a sharper question. Six carry neither the Contains ads label nor an in-app purchase range: YouVersion, Bible App Lite, Blue Letter Bible, AndBible, Literal Word and Bible.is. Four carry the Contains ads label: Logos, Life Bible, Bible Offline-KJV and Bible Gateway, and all four also sell in-app purchases. Four more have no ads label but sell in the app: Olive Tree, ESV Bible, Catholic Study Bible App and Dwell. Three developers publish no price for the tier that matters, so the table says not published on the pages read: the Logos subscriptions, Life Bible Premium and the yearly total for Bible Gateway Plus. Where a developer's own price differs from the Play range, both are printed: Olive Tree's Bible Study Pack at $5.99 a month, Dwell's $399.99 lifetime plan sold on its website, and ESV's $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year, which match the two ends of its range.
The Contains ads label is what a developer declares to Google about ads in its app. It does not settle what a developer does with data. YouVersion carries no ads label, yet its Data safety page, read 27 September 2026, lists email address as shared for Analytics and Advertising or marketing, and Bible App Lite lists device or other IDs and email address as shared for the same purpose. Three developers declare that their app collects and shares nothing: Blue Letter Bible, AndBible and Literal Word. Dwell declares no data shared with third parties and states that its data is not encrypted. All of this is what each developer says about itself on its own listing, not an audit.
Account rules are stated for only a few of the fourteen. YouVersion's help centre asks you to verify you are signed in before downloading a version, and Olive Tree's says to sign in to your account first. Logos says you can use a limited version without an account, and that guides do not work for anonymous users. Hosanna's listing says you do not need an account, and that a free account gives access to a few additional downloads. For the other apps here, no account rule is stated on the pages read.
Among the fourteen, only ESV Bible, which names your phone or tablet, and Bible Gateway, which offers two versions side by side on tablets, mention tablets on their listings, read 27 September 2026. Bible App for Kids, one of the apps checked and left out below, says it is available for Android smartphones and tablets. For the others, tablet support is not stated on their listings, which is a gap in the documentation rather than evidence either way.
Every Google Play listing prints a minimum Android version, and on the 27 September 2026 read the fourteen range from Android 6.0 to Android 12. Logos requires Android 12 or later and Olive Tree Android 10 or later, so a phone on Android 9 cannot install either of them. Catholic Study Bible App requires Android 9, and Blue Letter Bible, Life Bible and ESV Bible require Android 8.0. YouVersion, Bible App Lite, Dwell, Bible Offline-KJV, Bible.is and Bible Gateway require Android 7.0, and AndBible and Literal Word the lowest minimum on this page, Android 6.0. Among the apps checked and left out, Hosanna, BibleProject and e-Sword require Android 10 and Ascension Android 9. Your version is under Settings, About phone.
Six more apps were read on the same storefront on 27 September 2026. None is in the table, and none is ranked against the fourteen.
is always completely free; it is left out because it is a children's story app rather than a Bible reader.
Choose YouVersion over AndBible for the larger library of versions and reading plans with nothing sold, and AndBible over YouVersion if you want an app whose developer calls it offline by design and declares no data collected. Choose Olive Tree over both when you want study tools and audio to work without a connection and will sign in and pay for the titles you want. Choose Dwell over Olive Tree when narrated listening is the point and a subscription is acceptable, and Olive Tree over Dwell when you want study Bibles, commentaries and original-language tools as well as the Bible text offline.
No. The YouVersion listing, read 27 September 2026, says its audio Bibles are not available offline, and its help centre says the current version of the app does not support downloading audio for offline use, with no timeframe given for changing that. Text is different: you can download select versions to read offline once you are signed in, although the help centre says not every version can be downloaded. Checked 27 September 2026.
Six of the fourteen on this page, read on the United States storefront on 27 September 2026: YouVersion, Bible App Lite, Blue Letter Bible, AndBible, Literal Word and Bible.is. Of those, AndBible, Literal Word and Bible App Lite also state offline text, and YouVersion states it for select versions. Bible.is is being retired by its developer. Logos, Life Bible, Bible Offline-KJV and Bible Gateway carry the Contains ads label. Checked 27 September 2026.
Its Google Play listing, read 27 September 2026, says playing audio requires an internet connection and is not available for offline use. YouVersion's own web page for Bible App Lite, read the same day, says you can download Bible versions and audio, so the two disagree. This page goes by the listing and records the disagreement. Text downloads for offline reading are stated on the listing in several languages. Checked 27 September 2026.
Only in part. The Logos Mobile FAQ, read 27 September 2026, says the app offers limited offline reading by pre-downloading resources, lists extended offline usage as unsupported, and says guides only work when online. Faithlife's separate help article says downloaded audio and video can be used without Wi-Fi or a data connection. Reading a book while online does not download it automatically. Checked 27 September 2026.
Faith Comes By Hearing, its developer, says on its help centre, read 27 September 2026, that Bible.is will retire later in the year, which on that date means before the end of 2026, and asks users to move to Hosanna. No exact date is given. Hosanna's listing, read the same day, says downloaded content stays available offline, that no account is needed and that there are no subscriptions, paywalls or third-party ads. It had 87 reviews and 1,000+ installs and requires Android 10 or later. Checked 27 September 2026.
Yes. Its listing, read 27 September 2026, offers to try it free for 7 days and prints three tiers: Solo at $59.99 a year or $9.99 a month, Duo at $89.99 a year or $14.99 a month and Family at $109.99 a year or $17.99 a month, with in-app purchases from $4.99 to $199.99 per item. Its help centre says the free tier is sample plan content and that everything else needs a subscription. Its website also sells a $399.99 lifetime plan. Checked 27 September 2026.
Three listings name tablets, read 27 September 2026: ESV Bible, which calls itself the best possible Bible reading experience for your phone or tablet, Bible Gateway, which offers two versions side by side on tablets, and Bible App for Kids, listed among the apps checked and left out, which says it is available for Android smartphones and tablets. For the other apps on this page, tablet support is not stated on their listings, which is not the same as saying they do not work on one. Checked 27 September 2026.
It can. YouVersion carries no ads label, yet its Data safety page, read 27 September 2026, lists email address as shared for Analytics and Advertising or marketing, and Bible App Lite lists device or other IDs and email address as shared for Advertising or marketing. Blue Letter Bible, AndBible and Literal Word declare that they collect and share no user data. These are the developers' own declarations on Google Play, not an audit. Checked 27 September 2026.
Checked 27 September 2026: first publication; all 14 Play listings read on the United States English storefront on 27 September 2026, and every rating, review count, install band, in-app purchase range, Contains ads label, Listing updated date and Data safety line on this page is from that read, as are the figures for the six apps checked and left out. Developer pages quoted in each section were opened on 27 September 2026. Bible App Lite's review count moved by a few between two reads that day; the figure printed is the one on the file read for this page. Also checked and not listed: MySword and Faithlife Study Bible returned HTTP 404 on the United States store on 27 September 2026 and are not recommendations here. NIV Bible and Holy Bible King James + Audio, both from Tecarta, and the NIV Bible App by Olive Tree share an engine with apps already in the table, so one app per developer is listed. biblegateway.com answered only with a regional notice, quoted in its section, and literalword.com returned an error on 27 September 2026, so no help or price page from either developer could be read. The table and the picks sit at the top of the page.