Checked 24 September 2026
Twelve background eraser and cut-out apps that remove the background from a photo, weighed on what a listing can prove before you install: whether it carries the Contains ads label, what the in-app purchase range prints, what the developer says the free export gives, and who promises no watermark. Nothing here rests on installing them.
Photoroom is the pick, Background Eraser by handyCloset the free one funded by advertising, Pixelcut the one whose developer promises a free export without watermark, BG Remover by Easyelife the one with no ads label and a $9.99 ceiling. Our answer, the free pick and the table ↓
Twelve Android apps that remove the background from a photo, compared on the cost model as Play prints it, the Contains ads label and the in-app purchase range, on what each developer's own page says the free export gives, on who promises no watermark and where, and on the rating, all read on the United States English storefront on 24 September 2026. Where a developer publishes nothing, the cell says so.
Photoroom is our best overall pick because its own help centre, read 23 September 2026, caps a free Android export at 4032 × 4032 pixels, the same ceiling as its paid plans, at 25 exports a week or 100 a month for personal use, on a listing read 24 September 2026 that carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $5.99 to $999.99 per item.
Background Eraser by handyCloset is our free pick because its listing, read 24 September 2026, carries the Contains ads label and no in-app purchases at all, so nothing inside it is for sale, behind a 4.8 rating from 992,650 reviews and 100,000,000+ installs.
Pixelcut is our no-watermark pick because its own pricing page, read 23 September 2026, prints Free export without watermark beside Limited Background Removal, on a listing read 24 September 2026 with no Contains ads label and in-app purchases of $2.99 to $299.99 per item.
Background Eraser - BG Remover by Easyelife is our no-ads pick under $10 because its listing, read 24 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $1.99 to $9.99 per item, the lowest ceiling on this page, with a no-watermark PNG promised on the listing alone.
Data checked: 24 September 2026.
Every app here is checked against its own Google Play listing on the United States English storefront: rating and review count, the install band, the in-app purchase range, the Contains ads label, the listing date and the full Data Safety section, all read on 24 September 2026. What the free export gives, whether a watermark is promised, whether a transparent PNG is named and where the photo is processed are read from the developer's own pricing, help and privacy pages, read on 23 September 2026 and 24 September 2026, and from the listing description, and the source is named in the app's section and in the table. Play weights the star average by country while the review count is global, so a rating read on another storefront is a different number, and the listing links on this page open on your own storefront, which can print a different rating and, for some apps, a different description. A no-watermark line that appears only on a listing is printed as the listing's claim; where a developer publishes nothing, the cell reads not stated, never none. Where a listing and a developer's own page disagree, the disagreement is stated rather than smoothed away. Nothing here rests on our own use of the apps.
Best overall
Rating 4.7 from 4,010,095 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $5.99 to $999.99 per item · Developer Photoroom AI Photo Editor · Listing updated 22 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.7 (4,010,095) · read 24 September 2026
Photoroom is the pick because it is the only developer on this page whose documented free export size equals its paid ceiling: its help centre, read 23 September 2026, caps a free Android export at 4032 × 4032 pixels, the same as Pro. The listing, read 24 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $5.99 to $999.99 per item, the widest range here. The blunt part: a free account is capped at 25 exports a week or 100 a month, is for personal use only, the help centre publishes no watermark policy, and its own words say uploaded images train the AI by default unless you opt out.
The numbers come from two help articles. The resolution article gives Android Free 100 × 100 to 4032 × 4032 pixels while the web Free tier stops at 2000 × 2000 and iOS Free at 2400 × 2400, so Android is the platform where the free export is largest (Photoroom help, image resolution limits for exports, read 23 September 2026). The export limit article tables Free at 25 exports a week and 100 a month against 250 and 1,000 for Pro, and defines an export as any activity that requires Photoroom to provide an image file for external use
, downloads and saves to a device included (Photoroom help, export limit, read 23 September 2026). On licence the developer is direct: You cannot use a free account for commercial purposes. Free accounts are limited to personal use only, as stated in the Photoroom terms and conditions
(Photoroom help, free accounts and commercial use, read 24 September 2026).
Transparent PNG is documented: the supported file formats article marks PNG export as supported on Android with no plan attached to it (Photoroom help, supported file formats, read 24 September 2026). One thing is not. A help centre search for the word watermark, run 24 September 2026, returned no article at all, so the watermark cell in the table reads not stated rather than none. Where the photo goes is documented: by default, its help centre says, Photoroom uses the images you upload to help improve Photoroom's services, including training the AI
, and adds But you can opt out of contributing your images for service improvement if you wish.
(Photoroom help, does the AI learn from your images, read 24 September 2026), and the linked permission article, read 24 September 2026, says only data from designs made in the app is used and gives an On Android switch to opt out; neither article says whether the Android cut-out itself runs on the phone. The pricing page prints Pro at 12.99 USD a month or 89.99 USD a year in its structured data and says core tools such as the background remover are included on every paid plan with no credit cost, with mobile payments going through Google Play (Photoroom pricing, read 23 September 2026); the listing prints the range only, so the Play range is the app price. Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares no data shared with third parties, Photos as an optional collection, and that deletion can be requested.
Skip this if. Skip it if the cut-out is for something you sell: the developer restricts free accounts to personal use, and the paid plans sit inside a $5.99 to $999.99 per item range the listing does not explain.
Choosing between them. Choose Photoroom over Pixelcut if a documented 4032 × 4032 pixel free export matters more than a no-watermark line, and Pixelcut over Photoroom if the developer's written promise of a watermark-free free export is the thing you need.
Best free, nothing to buy
Rating 4.8 from 992,650 reviews · Installs 100,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer handyCloset Inc. · Listing updated 29 May 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (992,650) · read 24 September 2026
Background Eraser by handyCloset is the free pick on the plainest cost model on this page: the listing, read 24 September 2026, carries the Contains ads label and no in-app purchases label at all, so nothing inside the app is for sale and advertising is the whole price. It is the most installed app here at 100,000,000+ installs, joint highest rated at 4.8 from 992,650 reviews, and its listing says it was released on 29 March 2014. The blunt part: the developer documents nothing. Its website, read 23 September 2026, is one sentence and three links, and the listing prints no watermark policy, no output size, no file format and no word on whether the photo leaves the phone, so every one of those cells reads not stated.
What the listing does say is the job: This is an application for cutting pictures and for making a picture's background transparent
, with two erase modes on the listing, Magic and Auto, the second also called Color and described as automatic (Google Play listing, read 23 September 2026). The letters PNG appear nowhere in its description, so the table prints a transparent cut-out rather than a transparent PNG. The developer's site is the entire public documentation: We are developing useful apps
plus Google Play, App Store and privacy policy links, with no pricing, help or feature page (handyCloset, read 23 September 2026). Because the listing prints no in-app purchase, there is no listed way to pay the ads away either; as far as the listing can tell you, the label is permanent.
Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares no data shared with third parties, collection of device or other IDs for analytics and advertising, crash logs, diagnostics and app interactions, no Photos entry, and that deletion can be requested. The same developer publishes PhotoLayers, whose listing title reads PhotoLayers-Superimpose,Eraser, on the same cost model: 4.7 from 184,801 reviews, 10,000,000+ installs, Contains ads and no in-app purchases, checked 24 September 2026. It is not ranked separately here.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want a written promise about the output: the developer prints no watermark policy, no export size and no file format, and the listing carries the Contains ads label with no purchase to remove it.
Choosing between them. Choose Background Eraser over Background Eraser Photo Editor if you want nothing for sale inside the app, and InShot's app over it if a listing that names a no-watermark transparent PNG matters more than the absence of a purchase range.
Best no-watermark promise
Rating 4.2 from 242,921 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $2.99 to $299.99 per item · Developer Pixelcut Inc · Listing updated 18 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.2 (242,921) · read 24 September 2026
Pixelcut earns the no-watermark pick on the developer's own words rather than the listing's: its pricing page, read 23 September 2026, prints Free export without watermark under the $0 plan, beside Limited Background Removal, and prints no number for that limit. The listing, read 24 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $2.99 to $299.99 per item, rated 4.2 from 242,921 reviews at 10,000,000+ installs. The blunt part: the free tier is Limited Background Removal with no number printed anywhere by the developer, no export size for the Android app is published anywhere, and the range the listing prints is the only app price, because the developer says prices differ by platform.
The only figure in the help centre is a line about free users that names no tool: Free users have more limited access (typically 3 uses/day). Upgrade to a paid plan for higher limits, more power, and access to all model classes.
(Pixelcut help, usage limits, read 24 September 2026); the same article lists Background Removal under Basic AI (Practically Unlimited) and says those models have practically unlimited usage limits for all subscribers, so the number that applies to free background removal is not printed. The pricing page sells Pro at $10 a month, or $8 a month billed yearly, with 600 AI credits a month, unlimited background removal, 1,000 batch exports a month and a commercial licence, which puts the licence for selling behind the paid plan (Pixelcut pricing, read 23 September 2026). A separate help article says pricing may vary between iOS, Android and web (Pixelcut help, pricing differences, read 24 September 2026), so the Play range is the only valid US app price. The refund article adds, under its Android heading, Google also handles all billing and refunds directly.
(Pixelcut help, how to request a refund, read 24 September 2026).
On the file you get, the developer documents the web tool and not the app. The web Background Remover page prints Export a transparent PNG and Up to 50MB and 6000 × 6000px, and says the tool is available on Android (Pixelcut, background remover, read 24 September 2026), but help centre searches for transparent and png returned no article, a search for resolution returned two Upscale articles and a one-line troubleshooting article, none of which prints an export size, read 24 September 2026, and the Free vs Pro article prints no free pixel size, so the table prints no size. The privacy page, read 24 September 2026, carries no statement on whether images are uploaded for processing. The listing's own description says The Pixelcut Pro membership gives you unlimited and instant background removals
and nothing about watermark, size or batch; its Data Safety section declares diagnostics, app interactions, device IDs and user IDs shared with third parties, read 23 September 2026.
Skip this if. Skip it if a free tier the developer only calls limited, with no number printed, is not enough and you would rather not pay: Background Eraser by handyCloset sells nothing and prints no daily limit, though it prints no promise either.
Choosing between them. Choose Pixelcut over Magic Eraser if you want the no-watermark promise with no ads label, and Magic Eraser over Pixelcut if the higher rating and a documented PNG with alpha transparency matter more than the Contains ads label.
Best ad-funded mass-market cut-out
Rating 4.8 from 847,988 reviews · Installs 50,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.99 to $13.99 per item · Developer Photo Editor & Collage Maker · Listing updated 11 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (847,988) · read 24 September 2026
Background Eraser Photo Editor is the mass-market free cut-out: 50,000,000+ installs, 4.8 from 847,988 reviews, and a listing, read 24 September 2026, that carries the Contains ads label with in-app purchases of $1.99 to $13.99 per item, the second lowest ceiling here. It is published as Photo Editor & Collage Maker, but its website field is inshot.app and that site lists this package in its roster, so this is InShot's app. The blunt part: the no-watermark transparent PNG is the listing's claim and nobody else's, because inshot.app has no page for the app, no pricing, no output size and no batch or processing statement, and high quality comes with no number attached.
The listing's description, read 23 September 2026, promises to remove background and make no watermark transparent background PNG pictures in high quality
and adds Zero cost!
, with the Contains ads label sitting above it as the cost (Google Play listing, read 23 September 2026). The developer site confirms ownership and nothing else: inshot.app links to this package from its roster, its bgeraser path returns 404, and it publishes no pricing, resolution, watermark or batch documentation for the app (InShot, read 23 September 2026). Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares no data shared with third parties, collection of files and docs, email and photos as optional, plus app interactions, crash logs and device IDs, and that deletion can be requested.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want a developer page to hold to: the words no watermark and high quality appear on the listing only, and the Contains ads label is the price of Zero cost.
Choosing between them. Choose Background Eraser Photo Editor over Easyelife's BG Remover if 847,988 reviews behind a 4.8 outweigh the ads, and Easyelife over it if you want the same listing-only no-watermark line without the Contains ads label.
Best rated all-rounder
Rating 4.8 from 583,916 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.99 to $99.99 per item · Developer Creatix Technology Global Limited · Listing updated 19 September 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.8 (583,916) · read 24 September 2026
Magic Eraser shares the highest rating on this page, 4.8 from 583,916 reviews, and is one of the two developers here, with Pixelcut, whose own page says free exports carry no watermark: its site FAQ, read 23 September 2026, says signed-in free users export without watermarks but process a limited number of photos. The listing, read 24 September 2026, carries the Contains ads label with in-app purchases of $1.99 to $99.99 per item at 10,000,000+ installs. The blunt part: the free count has no number, free resolution is known only to sit below the 4K that Premium unlocks, Data Safety says data cannot be deleted, and the listing markets removing watermarks and logos from images, a use this page does not endorse.
The free tier in the developer's words: Signed-in free users can process a limited number of photos and export without watermarks
, while Premium unlocks additional capabilities including higher resolution exports up to 4K, batch processing for editing multiple photos at once
(Magic Eraser, read 23 September 2026). The same page, re-read 24 September 2026, says of the cut-out The tool supports PNG export with alpha transparency.
and, on where the work happens, that tasks may run in the browser, in the mobile apps, or through backend AI services depending on the tool
, which is not a statement about this tool, so the upload cell reads not stated. The pricing page lists Free at $0 with unlimited exports and With Ads, Weekly at $4.99 and Yearly at $29.99 with No Ads, and defers limits and renewal terms to the store checkout (Magic Eraser pricing, read 23 September 2026); those are web prices, and the listing prints the Play range only.
The listing's description, read 23 September 2026, sells erasing objects, text, watermarks, logos and blemishes and HD-quality results, with no statement on its own export watermark, size or batch. Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares crash logs, diagnostics, device IDs and app interactions shared with third parties, and that the developer provides no way to request deletion. Removing a mark from someone else's image is a use this page does not recommend; the cut-out is what it is ranked on.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want to know the free count before installing: the developer says limited and prints no number, and by its own pricing page the ads are the free tier.
Choosing between them. Choose Magic Eraser over Pixelcut if a developer statement of PNG with alpha transparency and a 4.8 rating outweigh the Contains ads label, and Pixelcut over it if you want the no-watermark promise with no ads label at all.
Best without ads at the low end
Rating 4.4 from 12,918 reviews · Installs 1,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.99 to $9.99 per item · Developer Easyelife · Listing updated 18 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.4 (12,918) · read 24 September 2026
Background Eraser - BG Remover by Easyelife is the pick for a low ceiling without ads: the listing, read 24 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $1.99 to $9.99 per item, the lowest ceiling on this page, rated 4.4 from 12,918 reviews at 1,000,000+ installs and updated 18 September 2026. Its description promises a no-watermark, high-quality PNG. The blunt part: the listing is the only source there is. The developer website printed on it is a placeholder of two sentences of thanks, the privacy policy sits on a third domain, Data Safety says data cannot be deleted, and no output size, batch limit or processing location is published anywhere.
The listing's own words, read 23 September 2026: No watermark, making your photo clean and artistic
and Save in high-quality PNG image
, with a white background JPG as the alternative output, at version 2.2.5 (Google Play listing, read 23 September 2026). The developer website is the whole of it: Thanks for using this app. Thank you very much for choosing our products.
(Easyelife, read 23 September 2026). Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares no data shared with third parties, device IDs as an optional analytics collection, and that the developer provides no way to request deletion; the privacy policy it links sits on apppolicy.ijoysoftconnect.com rather than on the developer's own domain.
Skip this if. Skip it if a developer page matters to you: there is none to read, and every claim about the output is the listing's own.
Choosing between them. Choose BG Remover over PNG Maker if no ads label matters more than the joint cheapest floor, and TAPUNIVERSE's PNG Maker over it if $0.99 at the bottom of the range matters more than the ads.
Joint cheapest purchase floor
Rating 4.6 from 18,060 reviews · Installs 100,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $29.99 per item · Developer TAPUNIVERSE · Listing updated 22 July 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.6 (18,060) · read 24 September 2026
Background Remover - PNG Maker by TAPUNIVERSE shares the cheapest purchase floor on the page with Pokecut: the listing, read 24 September 2026, prints in-app purchases of $0.99 to $29.99 per item beside the Contains ads label, rated 4.6 from 18,060 reviews at 100,000+ installs, the joint smallest install band here, shared with Erase.bg. Its description says save without watermark and create a transparent image. The blunt part: the developer's website is a JavaScript shell whose only readable sentence asks you to enable JavaScript, no output size, batch limit or processing location is published, and the Data Safety form declares no data collected on an app that carries the Contains ads label, two declarations the developer leaves you to reconcile.
The listing, read 23 September 2026, promises Save without watermark
, Background Eraser: Create transparent image
and Make white background & transparent background
, at version 2.0.21, with no size, batch or processing statement (Google Play listing, read 23 September 2026). PNG is in the app's title and nowhere else. The developer site serves the single sentence You need to enable JavaScript to run this app, its background-remover and apps paths return 404, and the Play developer page for TAPUNIVERSE is the only place that lists the app beside the developer's other packages (TAPUNIVERSE, read 23 September 2026). Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares No data shared with third parties and No data collected.
Skip this if. Skip it if you need the ads explained: the listing declares Contains ads and no data collected on the same page, and the developer publishes nothing that reconciles the two.
Choosing between them. Choose PNG Maker over SnapBG if the lowest floor matters and you accept a silent website, and SnapBG over it if you want a developer pricing page you can read, even one that is stricter than the listing.
Best documented free preview size
Rating 4.3 from 3,966 reviews · Installs 500,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $2.99 to $59.99 per item · Developer SilverAI Inc · Listing updated 9 July 2026 · Contains ads: Yes · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.3 (3,966) · read 24 September 2026
SnapBG is the cautionary entry, because its listing and its developer's pricing page describe two different free tiers. The listing, read 24 September 2026, opens with No watermark!, carries the Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $2.99 to $59.99 per item. The pricing page at snapbg.ai, the site the listing names, read 23 September 2026, gives a Free Account normal quality output and free previews up to 1280 pixels. The blunt part: the free credit count inside the app is published nowhere readable, the developer's page never mentions a watermark either way, Data Safety says data cannot be deleted, and the Play seller is SilverAI Inc while the site footer names Sfund JSC.
The developer's terms: Preview Images up to max 1280px are always FREE on the www.SnapBG.ai website. Full Images up to 24 megapixels (e.g. 6000×4000) will be charged 1 credit
, with pay-as-you-go packs of 20 credits for $5, 100 for $20, 400 for $64, 1,000 for $130 and 3,000 for $300, and not one mention of a watermark (SnapBG pricing, read 23 September 2026). Those packs are web prices; the listing prints only its own range. The home page, read 24 September 2026, answers in its FAQ structured data whether the tool can make a transparent background with Yes! In fact, it's our core feature to quickly and accurately cut out background from image and replace it with a new editing-ready transparent background.
and prints Retain HD quality of images after making a background transparent (PNG), which documents the PNG; the site is an upload service, its privacy path returns 404, and nothing states whether the Android app processes on the phone (SnapBG, read 24 September 2026).
One warning for anyone searching: the pricing page at snapedit.app, which prints 10 credits a month, a 1600 pixel export and unlimited export with watermark for its free tier, links to a different package, snapedit.app.remove, and its terms are not this app's; read 23 September 2026. The listing's description, read 23 September 2026, leads with SnapBG: Background Eraser - 1 touch to remove anything! No watermark!
and Export at higher resolutions, with no numbers and no free credit count. Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares no data shared with third parties, device IDs collected for advertising or marketing, and that data cannot be deleted.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want one free tier described the same way twice: the listing's No watermark! and the pricing page's normal quality output are the developer's two statements, and the app's free credit count is printed in neither.
Choosing between them. Choose SnapBG over Erase.bg if unlimited free previews on the developer's website matter more than three HD downloads, and Erase.bg over SnapBG if you want the credit count and the price per credit printed on the developer's page before you sign up.
Best spelled-out credit model
Rating 3.8 from 2,948 reviews · Installs 100,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $4.99 to $114.99 per item · Developer PixelBin · Listing updated 9 August 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 3.8 (2,948) · read 24 September 2026
Erase.bg spells its credit model out more fully than any listing here: sign-up is compulsory, signing up gives three free credits, one credit per HD download, and Pro is pay-as-you-go, which the page headlines as $5 for 10 credits and prices on its plan card at $5.04, on the developer's pricing page, read 24 September 2026. The listing, read 24 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $4.99 to $114.99 per item. The blunt part: three downloads is the whole free allowance, the developer's home page says HD downloads are completely free while its pricing page says three, the listing says nothing about sign-up or credits at all, and its Data Safety form declares no data collected on an app whose developer says you must create an account.
The developer's own answer: Yes, you must sign up before using Erase.bg. Signing up gives you 3 free credits to download 3 HD images
; the plan cards print 10 credits for $5.04, 100 for $10.08 and 1,000 for $20.17, valid for one year and non-refundable, with Pro adding unlimited HD downloads and a batch mode, and the visible text of the page never mentions a watermark (Erase.bg pricing, read 24 September 2026). The home page, read 24 September 2026, prints a maximum image resolution of 10,000 × 10,000 pixels, input formats of png, jpeg, jpg, webp and heic, and export as a PNG or other preferred formats; its website how-to quotes an Uploading image, please wait message and its mobile-app how-to says the image gets uploaded after you install from the Play Store, which is the developer saying the photo is uploaded on both (Erase.bg, read 24 September 2026). The same home page calls HD downloads completely free; the pricing page is the stricter statement and the one this page prints.
The listing's description, read 23 September 2026, says You can do this for free in just a few seconds and clicks
and promises to download the transformed picture in its original resolution, with no mention of sign-up, credits, watermark or batch. Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares No data collected, on an app whose developer says an account is mandatory; both are the developer's own declarations and this page reports both.
Skip this if. Skip it if you will not create an account for a cut-out: the developer says sign-up is mandatory, and the free allowance after it is three downloads.
Choosing between them. Choose Erase.bg over PicWish if a documented three-credit start with no logo mentioned beats a batch of 30 from a listing that sells Remove PicWish Logo under Pro, and PicWish over Erase.bg if batch work is the job and paying is already the plan.
Best batch of 30
Rating 2.8 from 13,683 reviews · Installs 5,000,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $1.59 to $149.95 per item · Developer WangxuTech · Listing updated 11 September 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 2.8 (13,683) · read 24 September 2026
PicWish is the batch tool, up to 30 images at a time by its own listing, and the lowest rated app here at 2.8, read 24 September 2026. The listing carries no Contains ads label and prints in-app purchases of $1.59 to $149.95 per item, and its Pro pitch, read 24 September 2026, lists Remove PicWish Logo and High Definition Export among the paid features; the listing does not say what a free export carries. The blunt part: the developer's own pages disagree with each other. The pricing page, read 23 September 2026, says limited non-HD downloads a day; the Remove Background page, read 24 September 2026, says 50 images a day free without watermarks; and the FAQ says anything 2048 × 2048 pixels or larger is compressed in the app.
The listing's description, read 24 September 2026, prints under its Batch mode heading Remove backgrounds or unblur photos in batch, up to 30 images at a time
and sells Pro as Remove PicWish Logo, High Definition Export and 450 credits a month (Google Play listing, read 24 September 2026). The pricing page's rendered text gives the Free Plan free previews for most features and Limited Non-HD downloads per day, and Pro daily HD downloads for most online features and extra credits, with no dollar figure rendered on the page (PicWish pricing, read 23 September 2026). The FAQ adds the size rule, If the image ≥ 2048×2048 pixels. It will be automatically compressed on the PicWish online and PicWish APP
, and says uploaded files are permanently deleted from the website server after processing, which is the developer saying the photo is uploaded (PicWish FAQ, read 24 September 2026). The Remove Background page then says users can download 50 images per day for free without watermarks and export as a transparent PNG (PicWish, remove background, read 24 September 2026); that line contradicts the listing and the pricing page, so this page prints the stricter two and flags the third.
Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares no data shared with third parties, collection of device IDs, purchase history, email, user IDs and app interactions, and that deletion can be requested. The same developer publishes Apowersoft Background Eraser, which is named with its listing facts in the guidance section below. If a 2.8 makes you hesitate, how to read Google Play star ratings and reviews before you install an app explains what the number does and does not tell you.
Skip this if. Skip it if the free export is the point: the listing sells Remove PicWish Logo under Pro, its own pages give three different free tiers, and the rating is 2.8.
Choosing between them. Choose PicWish over Pokecut if a batch of 30 with a Play purchase range you can read beats a batch of 50 whose web dollar prices render only after the page's scripts run, and Pokecut over PicWish if the 4.0 rating and a stated 24-hour deletion of uploads matter more.
Best batch of 50
Rating 4.0 from 3,338 reviews · Installs 500,000+ · Free to install · In-app purchases $0.99 to $49.99 per item · Developer accordion · Listing updated 7 January 2026 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 4.0 (3,338) · read 24 September 2026
Pokecut is the other batch tool, up to 50 images at once by the developer's home page read 24 September 2026, and the listing, read 24 September 2026, carries no Contains ads label with in-app purchases of $0.99 to $49.99 per item, rated 4.0 from 3,338 reviews at 500,000+ installs. The blunt part: on the developer's pricing page the words HD Download and No Watermark are printed only inside the paid SE, Pro and Ultra cards, the Free column prints limited credits and no watermark line either way, the dollar prices render only after the page's scripts run and are not printed here, the developer says web plans cannot be used in the app, and its privacy policy says photos are sent to its servers for processing.
The pricing page's compare table gives the Free column Limited Credits and AI Background Remover Costs Credits against Unlimited for Pro and Ultra, with SE at 300 and Pro at 800 credits a month, each carrying a 3-Day Free Trial, and Ultra at 1,500, and answers its own question on the app: Can the Premium Plan or Credits purchased on the website be used on the Pokecut app? Sorry. Not at the moment. We're working on it.
(Pokecut pricing, read 24 September 2026). The home page FAQ says Yes, Pokecut is free to use. You can receive free credits to try out basic features, such as photo enhancement and background removal. However, usage is limited.
and puts batch at up to 50 images (Pokecut, read 24 September 2026). The same FAQ, read 24 September 2026, answers what makes Pokecut better with No ads, no watermarks, and no complicated learning curve
, a general line that names no plan, so the developer's two pages do not say the same thing about the free tier. The privacy policy says pictures are sent to the server for processing, that uploads are deleted after 24 hours and generated images after 15 days (Pokecut privacy policy, read 24 September 2026).
The listing, read 23 September 2026, was updated 7 January 2026, the second oldest listing date on this page, at version 4.2.2, under the developer name accordion with no website field and a feedback address at pokecut.com; its description names exporting to both png and jpg formats including png background and png sticker, and a batch editor with no number. Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares device IDs and approximate location shared with third parties for advertising, and that data cannot be deleted.
Skip this if. Skip it if you want the free output described: on the pricing page No Watermark appears only under the paid cards, the Free column says limited credits and nothing about the file you get, and the home page's no-watermarks line names no plan.
Choosing between them. Choose Pokecut over remove.bg if you need batch cut-outs from a developer that has announced no end date, and remove.bg over Pokecut only for a 0.25 megapixel personal-use preview before 1 December 2026.
Only until 1 December 2026
Rating 3.5 from 56,740 reviews · Installs 10,000,000+ · Free to install · No in-app purchases listed · Developer remove.bg · Listing updated 5 March 2024 · Contains ads: No · checked 24 September 2026
Google Play listing · 3.5 (56,740) · read 24 September 2026
remove.bg is the name most readers type, and the fact that outranks its ranking is on the developer's own FAQ: from 1 December 2026 the standalone website closes, unused credits expire that day, and the FAQ never names the Android app, so the app's fate is not documented. The listing, read 24 September 2026, carries neither a Contains ads label nor an in-app purchases label. The blunt part: free output is capped at 0.25 megapixels for personal use, full resolution up to 50 megapixels needs credits sold on a website that is closing, and the listing's only hint of any of this is a Canva Connection line in What's new.
The closure in the developer's words: From 1 December 2026 at 9:00am CET, remove.bg's standalone website will no longer be available. Background removal is moving to Canva and API access to Leonardo.ai, with upgraded offerings on both.
and Any unused PAYG credits will expire on 1 December 2026
, with annual subscriptions ending automatically with a pro-rata refund; the word Android appears on that page only in a footer link (remove.bg FAQ, read 23 September 2026 from the page's embedded FAQ text, because the accordion renders client-side). The free tier: Yes, remove.bg is 100% free for low-resolution images (up to 0.25 megapixels) processed on the website and for personal use. You also get 50 free previews per month that you can use with the desktop app or with the API.
(remove.bg help, is remove.bg free, read 23 September 2026); the ceiling is 50 megapixels for full output and 0.25 megapixels, 625 × 400 as the example, for previews (remove.bg help, maximum resolution, read 23 September 2026); Free and No account plans are restricted to non-commercial use (remove.bg help, commercial use, read 23 September 2026).
The developer's own Android page still advertises version 1.1.4 and a last update of 10 November 2020 in its body, never mentions the app's fate, and serves the same site-wide closure banner above it, client-rendered (remove.bg, Android app page, read 23 September 2026). The privacy policy says uploads are processed and deleted shortly after, stored and processed in Europe and any other country where the operator keeps facilities, and may be analysed to train its models (remove.bg privacy policy, read 24 September 2026), which is the developer saying the photo is uploaded; the home page prints Create a transparent background (PNG), the formats article says PNG Supports transparency; ideal if you would like to keep the background transparent
(remove.bg help, supported formats, read 24 September 2026), and the home page footer reads © remove.bg, a Canva Austria GmbH brand (remove.bg, read 24 September 2026). The listing itself, version 1.4.0, promises you will get a flawless transparent background
, and its What's new block still advertises downloading pictures in full resolution without saying that full resolution is paid, plus the Canva Connection. Data safety, read 23 September 2026, declares email and device IDs shared with third parties, photos as an optional collection, and that deletion can be requested. Canva's own listing facts sit in the guidance section below, because its help pages could not be opened on 24 September 2026.
Skip this if. Skip it if you need the app after 1 December 2026: the developer's FAQ ends the website that day and says nothing about the Android app either way.
Choosing between them. Choose Photoroom over remove.bg for any cut-out that has to last, because Photoroom documents a free 4032 × 4032 pixel Android export and no closing date, and remove.bg over it only if a 0.25 megapixel personal-use preview is all the job needs before 1 December 2026.
Start with the cost model as Play prints it, because on this page it is the one fact every listing states the same way. Five of the twelve carry the Contains ads label: Background Eraser by handyCloset, Background Eraser Photo Editor, Magic Eraser, PNG Maker and SnapBG. Ten print an in-app purchase range, from a $0.99 floor at PNG Maker and Pokecut to a $999.99 ceiling at Photoroom. Two print no purchase at all: handyCloset, which carries ads instead, and remove.bg, which sells its credits on a website its developer is closing. Not one of the ten names which item is the subscription or what period it covers, so the phrase the listing prints the range only applies to every app here, and a weekly, monthly or yearly price is something you will only see at the checkout.
Four listings promise no watermark and nothing on the developer's side repeats it: Background Eraser Photo Editor, BG Remover, PNG Maker and SnapBG, whose pricing page instead says normal quality output. Two developers make the promise on their own pages: Pixelcut's pricing page prints Free export without watermark, and Magic Eraser's FAQ says free users export without watermarks, both read 23 September 2026. PicWish sells Remove PicWish Logo under Pro on its listing without saying what a free export carries, and Pokecut prints No Watermark only inside the paid cards of its pricing page, while its home page FAQ, read 24 September 2026, says no watermarks in a general answer that names no plan. Four say nothing at all: Photoroom, whose help centre has no watermark article, handyCloset, Erase.bg and remove.bg. Nothing on this page turns that silence into a promise, which is why those cells read not stated.
Photoroom prints 4032 × 4032 pixels for Android, remove.bg prints 0.25 megapixels with 625 × 400 as its example, and SnapBG prints previews up to 1280 pixels, all read 23 September 2026. Erase.bg prints a count instead, three HD downloads, and a 10,000 × 10,000 pixel input maximum; PicWish prints a compression threshold of 2048 × 2048 pixels rather than an export size. The other seven print no figure, and high quality, high-resolution and HD appear on their listings without a number. A 0.25 megapixel preview is a 625 by 400 pixel image; a 4032 by 4032 pixel export is about 16 megapixels, and that difference is the whole reason the free column names its source.
Five developers say in their own privacy or help text that the photo is uploaded: remove.bg, Photoroom, Pokecut, Erase.bg and PicWish, with Pokecut adding a 24-hour deletion and remove.bg and Photoroom adding that uploads may train their models by default, read 24 September 2026. Magic Eraser says its tasks may run in the browser, in the apps or on backend services depending on the tool, which settles nothing for the cut-out. SnapBG's site is an upload service that says nothing about the app. Pixelcut, handyCloset, Background Eraser Photo Editor, BG Remover and PNG Maker publish nothing, so for those five the answer is not documented, and no app on this page states in its developer's own words that processing stays on the phone. The Data Safety section is the other thing to read before signing in, and How to Check What an App Can Access on Android shows where it lives and what its declarations mean; four listings here, Magic Eraser, BG Remover, SnapBG and Pokecut, declare that data cannot be deleted, and two, PNG Maker and Erase.bg, declare no data collected on apps that carry ads or require an account.
Photoroom limits free accounts to personal use and bars commercial purposes in its help centre, read 23 September 2026; remove.bg restricts its Free and No account plans to non-commercial use, read 23 September 2026; Pixelcut lists a commercial licence under Pro only, read 23 September 2026; Erase.bg's home page limits the free website tier to personal use, read 24 September 2026. The other eight say nothing about licence on their listings or their pages, and nothing here reads that silence as permission. Pokecut's SE and Pro cards each carry a 3-Day Free Trial on the developer's pricing page, read 24 September 2026; the listing prints only the range, so what that trial becomes is something you will see at the checkout and nowhere on this page.
Four suite apps a reader is likely to have seen are named here with what their listings print, checked 24 September 2026, because their own pages could not be opened on 24 September 2026. Canva, the successor remove.bg's FAQ names, reads 4.8 from 27,090,753 reviews, 500,000,000+ installs, no Contains ads label, in-app purchases $1.49 to $300.00 per item; its help pages could not be opened on 24 September 2026. Adobe Express reads 4.6 from 855,241 reviews, 100,000,000+ installs, no ads label, $9.99 to $99.99 per item; Photoshop Express reads 4.5 from 2,593,645 reviews, 100,000,000+ installs, no ads label, $2.99 to $99.99 per item, and its listing describes replacing backgrounds rather than a transparent export; Adobe's own pages could not be opened on 24 September 2026. Picsart reads 4.0 from 12,134,868 reviews, 1,000,000,000+ installs, Contains ads, $0.99 to $429.99 per item, and its web Background Remover page, read 24 September 2026, answers whether the remover is free with a seven-day trial of its subscription plan; the Android gate is not documented separately. None of the four documents what its free Android cut-out gives, which is the column this page is built on.
Eight smaller apps were read on the United States English storefront on 24 September 2026 and left out, and every figure that follows is from that read. AI Photo Editor - BgMaster reads 4.6 from 77,532 reviews, 5,000,000+ installs, Contains ads, $3.99 to $99.99 per item, checked 24 September 2026; its developer site links the package and prints nothing about it, read 24 September 2026. Apowersoft Background Eraser, from PicWish's developer, reads 2.9 from 6,472 reviews, 1,000,000+ installs, no ads label, $2.99 to $30.99 per item. Ultimate Background Eraser reads 4.7 from 56,125 reviews, 5,000,000+ installs, Contains ads, $2.99 to $19.99 per item, with no developer documentation found. Pixomatic reads 3.9 from 38,775 reviews, 5,000,000+ installs, Contains ads, $0.99 to $99.99 per item, on a listing last updated 27 August 2025. Erasee by Nero AG reads 4.4 from 2,026 reviews at 50,000+ installs, no ads label, $2.49 to $69.99 per item, too new a sample to rank. Cutout Pro shows no rating on the US listing at 100,000+ installs, no ads label, $4.99 to $29.99 per item. MAXMOBILE's Background Eraser names a transparent PNG on its listing and documents nothing elsewhere, and Codegres' Remove Background shows no rating and describes itself as online in one line and offline in another. Two apps with full developer documentation were set aside at selection for the thin samples behind their ratings, both checked 24 September 2026: Background Remover - Slazzer, 3.3 from 880 reviews, whose pricing page prints 0.20 credit per 0.25 megapixel preview in the app, read 24 September 2026, and Background Remover: Offline by Applab Studios, 3.1 from 246 reviews, the only listing read for this page whose developer states that photos never leave the phone; both are candidates for a later edition.
Only remove.bg's listing carries neither a Contains ads label nor an in-app purchases label, and its developer caps free output at 0.25 megapixels for personal use and closes the standalone website on 1 December 2026 without saying what happens to the Android app. Background Eraser by handyCloset is the other listing with nothing to buy, at 100,000,000+ installs and a 4.8 rating, but it carries the Contains ads label and lists no purchase that removes the ads. Checked 24 September 2026.
Photoroom does not document it either way. A search of its help centre for the word watermark, run 24 September 2026, returned no article, so this page prints not stated rather than none. What the help centre does document is the size and the count: a free Android export of up to 4032 by 4032 pixels, the same ceiling as the paid plans, at 25 exports a week or 100 a month, for personal use only. The listing itself makes no watermark or resolution claim.
The developer has not said. Its FAQ, read 23 September 2026, states that the standalone website closes on 1 December 2026 at 9:00am CET, that unused pay-as-you-go credits expire that day, and that background removal is moving to Canva, and it names the website, the API and the plugins without naming the Android app. The Play listing, last updated 5 March 2024, carries no notice beyond a Canva Connection line in What's new. Treat the app's future as undocumented, not as safe.
Six apps make the claim somewhere, and where they make it matters. Pixelcut prints Free export without watermark on its own pricing page and Magic Eraser says free users export without watermarks in its own FAQ, both read 23 September 2026. Background Eraser Photo Editor, BG Remover by Easyelife, PNG Maker by TAPUNIVERSE and SnapBG say no watermark on their Play listings only. PicWish sells Remove PicWish Logo under Pro without saying what a free export carries, and Pokecut prints No Watermark under its paid plans on its pricing page while its home page FAQ says no watermarks without naming a plan.
On this page, only Photoroom documents a free export size that equals its paid ceiling, 4032 by 4032 pixels on Android, read 23 September 2026. remove.bg caps free output at 0.25 megapixels, SnapBG prints previews up to 1280 pixels as the free tier, PicWish compresses anything 2048 by 2048 pixels or larger in the app and puts High Definition Export behind Pro, and Magic Eraser reserves exports up to 4K for Premium without giving the free size. The other developers print words such as high quality without a number.
Five say so in their own privacy or help text, read 24 September 2026: remove.bg, which adds that uploads may train its models, Photoroom, whose help centre says uploaded images train the AI by default unless you opt out, Pokecut, which deletes uploads after 24 hours, Erase.bg, whose mobile-app how-to says the image gets uploaded, and PicWish, whose FAQ says uploaded files are deleted after processing. Magic Eraser says its tasks may run in the app or on backend services depending on the tool. Pixelcut, handyCloset, Background Eraser Photo Editor, BG Remover, PNG Maker and SnapBG publish nothing about the app, and no app here states that processing stays on the phone.
It is the star average the United States English listing printed on 24 September 2026, weighted by country, over a global count of 13,683 reviews, and it is the lowest on this page. The listing behind it prints no Contains ads label, in-app purchases of $1.59 to $149.95 per item, a batch of up to 30 images, and a Pro pitch that sells Remove PicWish Logo and High Definition Export without stating what a free export carries; the developer's Remove Background page, read 24 September 2026, says 50 images a day free without watermarks, so the two sources disagree. This page ranks the app on its batch feature, not on its rating.
No. A background remover cuts the subject out and leaves the rest transparent, usually as a PNG, which is what every app on this page is ranked on. An object remover erases a person or a thing from inside the photo and fills the gap, and the picture keeps its background. Magic Eraser's listing sells both jobs, and remove.bg, Photoroom and Pixelcut are ranked here for the cut-out only. The developers' free-tier terms above apply to the cut-out; a fill tool inside the same app may sit under a different limit. Checked 24 September 2026.
Checked 24 September 2026: first publication; all 12 Play listings read on the United States English storefront on 24 September 2026, and every rating, review count, install band, in-app purchase range, Contains ads label and listing date on this page comes from that read. Developer pricing, help, privacy and FAQ pages were read on 23 September 2026 and 24 September 2026, and each is cited with the date it was read; remove.bg's FAQ and its Android page banner render client-side and were read from the pages' embedded text, which the citations say. Considered and left out, and named with their listing facts in the guidance section above: Background Remover - Slazzer (3.3 from 880 reviews, checked 24 September 2026) and Background Remover: Offline by Applab Studios (3.1 from 246 reviews, checked 24 September 2026), set aside at selection for the thin samples behind their ratings despite full developer documentation; Canva, Adobe Express, Photoshop Express and Picsart, suite apps whose free Android cut-out terms could not be read from their own pages, which could not be opened on 24 September 2026 or render only in the browser, and which are named in the guidance section with their listing facts only; AI Photo Editor - BgMaster, Apowersoft Background Eraser, Ultimate Background Eraser, Pixomatic, Erasee, Cutout Pro, MAXMOBILE's Background Eraser and Codegres' Remove Background, for no developer documentation of the free export, a stale listing, no published rating, a thin sample or a listing that contradicts itself. Three developer self-contradictions are printed rather than resolved: Erase.bg's home page against its pricing page, remove.bg's What's new against its help centre, and PicWish's Remove Background page against its listing and pricing page. Nothing on this page rests on installing any of the apps.